Are you still reading?

As pastors we all lament the fact that Bible illiteracy seems to be dramatically high. There are so many reasons for this and studies could be conducted ad infinitum. However, I am a firm believer that much of this can be overcome by getting folks in the habit of regularly reading Scripture. According to some statistics the numbers of “through-the-Bible” readers begins to dramatically decline around this time of the year. So how do you encourage your people to implement a regular reading schedule?

6 responses to this post.

  1. I think sometimes less is more. Reading the Bible in a year is often not the best plan for helping our people be in God’s Word each day and yet still have time to pray, meditate on the Scriptures, memorize the Word, etc.

    I would counsel my people to choose a plan that works for them. Accountability is often helpful but won’t guarantee success.

    At the end of the day the spiritual disciplines require spiritual sweat. Am i willing to get up early to have my devotions? Am i willing to turn off the tv in order to have my devotions? Am i willing to shorten my lunch break in order to have my devotions? etc, etc.

  2. As Thomas Watson said:

    ”If you know these things, happy are you if you do them.” John 13:17

    “Christ does not put happiness upon knowing but upon doing. It is not knowledge of the points of religion but practice, which renders a man truly happy and blessed.”

    I am amazed how few “Christians” read the Word. Don’t you believe Christ is most revealed to us as we read the Word?

    Even when I am teaching, its reading from the Bible itself, rather than on the sermon notes, that I sense most effective the power of the Words of Christ.

    Charles

  3. A yearly plan to read throught the Bible in one year is often counter productive. Simply letting one’s eyes pass over the words on a page doesn’t impart anything magical. It is the understanding and reflection on the revealed Word of God that is more important. I am thankful that I am forced to slow down in reading the Bible as I study God’s Word for Sunday. It makes me anticipate what these words really are saying, and what the Holy Spirit is revealing in my life.

  4. Something is disastrously wrong when the people of God can’t spend 15 minutes to read the Bible. Especially in light of the fact that we can spend time doing other things. We can talk about the shortcomings of yearly bible reading plans, but I wonder if many would read even 1 or 2 texts a day.

    Although I have never seen any statistics like this before, they ring true to me. But what can we do as preachers?

    As I said, something is disastrously wrong when Christians can’t spend 15 minutes a day reading the Bible.

  5. Daily Devotional are transformative. The Key is not to approach the process as a ritual but more as an relationship with the Lord.

    There are devotional aids that are phenomenal. I am currently using “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young. Sarah does an awesome job in making it short and to the point. In fact the devotional is as if Jesus is talking to you personally rather than someone else’s experience because she puts on paper what Christ has spoken to her throughout her journey. Of course there are scripture references for further studies.

    Churches are not teaching enough on the standards of Christianity. I would dare quote the Chinese Proverb. Feed a man and he will eat for today. Teach him how to fish and he will eat for the rest of his life.

    Prosperity begins in the soul not the pocket.

    Pastor Al

  6. [...] Expository Thoughts Website has an article that graphs the Daily Devotions of to the ESV devotions site. We see that there is, as you might expect, a spike in January and then a drop that only goes up at [...]

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 83 other followers

