Playing “tag” is a child’s game

Nevertheless I will play along since an old college friend tagged me a month ago and I have yet to respond.

1. One book that changed your life.

Baxter’s The Reformed Pastor (close 2nd his Christian Directory). He understood better than most that we are called “Pastor-Teacher” not one or the other. Too many good men fall to one extreme when God calls us to be both.

2. One book that you have read more than once.

I’m not too wide a reader so I find a good book and stick with it which is why I’ve read The Forgotten Spurgeon numerous times and Calvin’s Institutes have proved to be a constant part of my weekly diet for a few years but most notable in this category would be The Reformed Pastor (it’s been my habit to read it once a year since 1996). I learned this last one from Spurgeon. His wife would read to him on Sunday evenings from The Reformed Pastor.

3. One book that you would want on a desert island.

US Army Survival Manual: FM 21-76

4. One book that made you laugh.

Lewis Grizzard’s They tore out my heart and stomped that sucker flat

5. One book that made you cry.

Some folks tell me I’m unable to cry but Gideon: A Novel if you must know.

6. One book that you wish would have been written.

What I really said in light of those who wish to tell you “what I really said”: My reflections on arrogant theologians who think they know me better than me by The Apostle Paul

7. One book that you wish would have never been written.

The Quran

8. One book that you are currently reading.

I like reading one book at a time but I’ve never been good at it, so I juggle a few. I’m reading a ton for my doctoral work (Greidanus, VanGemeren, etc., but notable is Kaiser’s Preaching and Teaching from the Old Testament).

9. One book you’ve been meaning to read.

Volume three of Bavinck’s Reformed Dogmatics (it’s sitting on the shelf looking at me but I refuse to pick it up right now). I also want to get into Culver’s Systematic Theology more than I have but #8 has held me up.

10. Tag Five Other People

I refuse to carry-on this ugly step-child of the old forwarded chain email/letter but I would enjoy hearing some of your answers to #8 in the comments, especially my fellow contributors here at Expository Thoughts (think of it as your contribution to the rent).

16 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Greg Smith on September 28, 2006 at 4:19 pm

    I will be attending the Desiring God National Conference this weekend so I have been preparing by reading David Wells’ book “Above All Earthly Pow’rs.” So many evangelicals today do not understand the importance of truth.

    Also, perhaps the most useful Christian book I have ever read and one I keep coming back to: “The Mortification of Sin” by John Owen.

  2. Currently reading: Spurgeon on Leadership by Larry J. Michael

  3. Robert Culver’s Systematic Theology

  4. David Wells’ Above All Earthly Powers and anything dealing with the doctrine of the Trinity

  5. Posted by gavin brown on September 29, 2006 at 3:50 am

    “God of Promise” by Michael Horton (He has not yet convinced me to be a paedobaptist)and “Fundamentalism and American Culture” by Marsden.

  6. Winston Churchill’s three volume set “A History of the English Speaking Peoples”. His comments on the religious history of the times tell more I think about him than the English speaking peoples. Just finished the chapter on Richard II. The reformation is still a couple of hundred years off. Should be interesting.

  7. I dig the new header graphic–nice to wake up to on a Friday morning!

  8. Currently reading: Knowing God, Humility by Mahaney, a book on using Word Pictures in preaching by Jack Hughes, and i forgot what else?

  9. I am reading the Kaiser book too. but for a masters’s class. i also like the new header. of all the blogs i visit and read i think this is one of the tops because it is about preachers and preaching!!!

  10. Jerry, are you reading Culver for the D.Min if not what do they have you reading in year deux?

    Gavin, let me know when you’re ready to move to Huntsville and lead music.I just realized we’re both UM Rams! I thought Horton’s book would have been better if he paid more attention to the actual covenants that are in Scripture.

    Robert, That is some of Churchill’s best writing though thick in spots. There is a lot of debate as to whether he was a believer with suppport for either side. George Grant seems to think he was but then again Grant believes anyone who got wet as a baby is in the covenant.

    Thanks Chris, we all know you come here for the pretty pictures. I don’t have a particular thing for trains but they seem to do better in a wider picture than most things. WordPress is so much better to work with than blogger. The categories alone were worth the switch but there’s so much more.

  11. Yes, Paul, you are correct. I guess I should clarify that I’m currently reading the pictorial version of Wells’ new book. I have no idea what he’s actually saying, but the views are spectacular :-)

  12. Chris,

    My boys really like “The Big Picture Story Bible” by David Helm. How many kids Bibles have you seen dedicated to “Graeme Goldsworthy”!!! You would really like the art work.

  13. Paul –
    Culver’s work is “on the side”. Year 2 of the D.Min.: New Covenant Theology (Wells/Zaspel); Generous Orthodoxy (McLaren); Most Moved Mover (Pinnock); Across the Sprctrum (Boyd/Eddy); New Perspective (Waters); A host of journal articles and Spurgeon sermons; Mayhue, Hughes, Morris, Heibert intro’s on 1 & 2 Thess and Eph.; Hoehner’s magnum opus on Ephesians; Preparing Instructional Objectives (Mager); Exegesis (Grassmick); Lectures to my Students (Spurgeon); MacArthur and Mayhue commentaries on 1 & 2 Thess.; and eight other titles on pedagogy and rhetorical method that I don’t have in front of me.

  14. Thanks Jerry. Being in year one of D.Min I didn’t think I could read more than what Barrick has given us but you just proved that wrong.

  15. Posted by gavin brown on September 30, 2006 at 7:56 pm

    Just let me know :)

  16. Posted by Rich Ryan on October 2, 2006 at 1:22 pm

    Here’s my 2 cents – seriously undervalued by the Euro

    #1 Preaching Christ from the Old Testament – Greidanus

    #2 The Reformation – MacCullough (which by the way, CBD lists his name as Daimaid, not Diarmaid, making it hard to find.)

Comments are closed.

