We are “King for a Week”

I typically stay away from my computer on Sundays so when I checked my email early this morning (Monday) I was shocked to see that our blog had 1,222 views on Sunday (and already more than 800 today). For a moment I thought something terrible had happened that might have attracted the kind of attention that nobody would want. However, I also had a number of emails with “congratulations” in the subject line so I knew something big had happened. It seems that Tim Challies of the world famous “Challies.com” has given us the high honor of “King for a Week“. With that one honor Tim has effectively tripled our blog traffic which certainly increases the pressure to live-up to such a honor but I hope our blog will remain useful whether there are 100 readers or 1,000. Thanks Tim and welcome Challies readers!

I do hope there is something here for all that will benefit their life and growth in the Lord. We are just five preachers who are talking out loud about the things that matter to us. We pray our conversation will be edifying and useful to those who read these pages. Blessings to all!

update: The awards keep coming. We are also one of the “Blogs of the day” for WordPress.com.

My wife has has a good laugh over all this since she knows I have never won anything in my life, not even from McDonald’s monopoly game where supposedly everyone’s a winner.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I’m sure the Scrabble post that greeted all the new visitors really impressed them.

    I’m still bitter that you slammed Josh Groban over at the Moor.

  2. I am one of the new readers brought here from Challies. I hope you live up to my expectations ;)

  3. Theologian,

    This is the down-side to being named “King” because before this there were zero “expectations” for our blog. Most days I’m content to put-on matching socks but this is a whole new level of accountability.

    Everyone, we will bask in the glow of our new fame the rest of today and then begin some regular posts starting tomorrow.

    Blessings!

  4. yes, you must now blog every day; no less than 1,000 words, and must mention Driscoll, Wright, or Piper to keep high honors.

    just kidding… any recommendation from Tim must be a good resource.

    vapor

  5. Posted by Caleb Kolstad on November 6, 2006 at 9:06 pm

    What a great honor. Congrats Paul!!

    CK

  6. Posted by Leslie on November 8, 2006 at 10:59 pm

    Congrats! I knew there had to be some royalty in our family somewhere…:)

Comments are closed.

