The benefits of “exegetical” preaching

The most important reason for exegetical preaching is what it does to the preacher. Here, what is meant is not exegetical preaching as the “ad-libbing” type of comment about a passage, but the serious attempt to recreate the context of the utterance, and then giving it a chance to speak for itself to man’s condition. This type of preaching, week by week, calls the preacher into constant confrontation with the Word, to the revelation of God in Christ, to the saving act which is addressed first to him, then to his people. This association with the Word deepens the motivation that he feels as he enters the pulpit and he becomes nothing so that the Word can be everything, until it is “Not I, but Christ speaking in me.” That Word, abiding, will challenge and confront people in terms of what they are essentially. Communication will take place. Reality will confront the gospel. People will feel in the broad range and profundity of the Word, not only their own problems and their condition, but there they will meet One who answers their problems ultimately and meets their condition unconditionally” [Raymond E. Gibson, “Communicating the Gospel,” Interpretation: A Journal of Bible and Theology 10:4 (1956), 410].

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kevin McAteer on December 6, 2006 at 8:00 pm

    Good post, Paul. I have seen this benefit in my own life time and time again.

    I was thinking along these lines yesterday as I was reminded of the need to apply the Word. It is too easy for a teacher to become a spiritual chef – preparing savory dishes for everyone else but eating very little of it myself. Sure, I may catch the occasional aroma of the Text while preparing the sermon for others; however, if I am not sitting down and feeding myself first, I have deceived myself according to James 1. Certainly a danger to be avoided!

  2. Thanks for the encourging quote dear brother! I am going to share it with my fellow elders!

    Jason

Comments are closed.

