Preaching through Jude

I am about half way through my studies in the Epistle of Jude.  I have been studying this book for over a year now and have loved every minute of it.  Don’t worry i have not preached 52 consecutive weeks through this short epistle (like perhaps our good friend Thomas Manton did);  I am an Ast. Pastor so i don’t have the privilege of preaching every week.  One of the advantages that i do have is that i get lots of time to really prepare for each message (I dont have a weekly deadline like most of you men have).  I can spend 40 hours on each sermon and still take care of all my other responsiblities (since like i said I don’t preach every Sunday).  I have spent lots of time in the text of Jude and lots of time reading commentaries on this much neglected Epistle.  I will post some helps on preaching through this book sometime in the future.

For now, here is my Top 10 list for you book lovers

1. Schreiner (NAC)

2. Hiebert

3. Moo (NIVA)

4. MacArthur

5. Davids (PNTC)

6. Kistemaker

7. Bauckman (WBC)

8. Kelly (Black’s)

9. Blum (EBC)

10. Green (Tyndale)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Calvin’s commentary is sometimes very helpful.

    I would not spend money on Luther’s (in my estimation it was not worth $10).

    Wiersbe is good for an illustration here and their.

    Bigg is good if you speak Latin, German, and Italian. On a serious note the ICC is good for some Greek Exegesis helps but not worth $75.

    MacArthur’s the Truth War (book) is helpful for some contemporary analysis.

    Barclay adds some insightful thoughts from time to time.

    Thomas Manton provides a very thorough analysis of the text. I have not found his commentary to be super helpful.

  2. Posted by Charles Savelle on April 17, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    This is a good list. I would commend Norman Hillyers commentary on 1 and 2 Peter and Jude in the NIBC series. Although this work is not as detailed as some of the works you have listed I have found it helpful.

  3. Charles,

    Thanks for that suggestion. I have not read or reviewed Hillyers commentary before. I appreciate your comment.

    Caleb

Comments are closed.

