Boice/Ryken’s “Doctrines of Grace”

Here is my outline of Boice and Ryken’s The Doctrines of Grace: Rediscovering the Evangelical Gospel that I used for leading a small group discussion. Click here for a PDF copy.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Paul

    Could you give me a little feed back on how your church uses
    “small groups”? What is the purpose you use “small groups?”

    The outline used in the study was very good. What other material do you use in small groups?

    Charles

  2. Thanks for the question Charles,

    I should have been more clear. I used the term “small group” loosely and this study was actually a men’s lunch Bible study that I taught about four years ago.

    Our church is relatively new (six years old) and we have never had our own facility (we are currently building) so most of our Bible studies have been in homes or at corporate office boardrooms and cafeterias. I’m probably not the best person to ask about small groups since we do not have any sort of regular set-up or plan. We try not to get locked in to a particular setting unless there’s a real need for it. In other words we do not have small groups just so we can have small groups. We have them at many different times, places and for a variety of reasons. Currently, we have a ladies prayer group that meets on Friday mornings, a young wives group that meets on Thursday evenings and we just finished a men’s evening study throught the book “Christian Living Beyond Belief.” I meet with men in our church, usually at lunch, about four times every week. That’s what we do but one of the other guys could probably give you more direction.

    Thanks again for your question. Blessings to you.

    PSL

  3. Paul

    Thanks for your comments on small Bible groups. We do get locked into a set method of doing ministry, and usually its not productive. I like the way you use “small groups. “In other words we do not have small groups just so we can have small groups.

    I also like the outline on Boice and Ryken’s book. This is the challenge for sure. Calvinism and Evangelicalism. But its necessary. Thanks again.

    Charles

  4. Posted by Bob Huntington on January 11, 2008 at 1:40 am

    Hello! I have been trying to find a booklet or pamphlet that I used to have, which was very helpful to me. The details include: Predestination, Doctrines of Grace, 5 Points of Calvinism, (Reformed) Baptist beliefs or doctrines, outline format with Scripture reference lists under each point, thorough, stapled (I think), grey or light blue in color? Does anyone have any idea what I am describing? If so, PLEASE let me know! I thought it might be “A Predestination Primer,” by John Gerstner, but I called a book seller that had it, and it didn’t sound right. The format was similar to the excellent outline, “THE SOVEREIGNTY OF GOD (THE MASTER THEME OF HOLY SCRIPTURE)” in the Nave’s Study Bible, Revised and Expanded Edition (Baker Book House, Grand Rapids, Michigan, 1978, ISBN: 0-8010-6696-4). If someone would help me with this, I would be very grateful. Thank you in advance. Sincerely, Bob Huntington (roberthuntington@comcast.net)

  5. I would like to get your book so I can know and see which way to teach, young people about God’s grace the proper way. I see so much out there on the World Wide Web, so many lies, and not enough truth from the word of God. God’s grace is important for young as well as old, by the way you think if a person taught from house to house and never have a church building, whats your thoughts, thanks for your comment; Elder Jernagin is who I am.

  6. I know alot of churches are out there and alot of them are teaching false things that the bible do not teach, its not a suprise to me it just that people just do what they do. If men do not rely on the Holy Spirit, then they rely on theri own thoughts, even concerning the word of God. Yes! a lot of people are winning alot of people to Christ, the isue is the Holy Spirit is the one that draws men to Christ, and yes we provide the scripture as the Holy Spirit leads and teach through us as childern of God; yet in the body of Christ the major issues are not dealt with only sweep under the rug, men with men and women with women in the body of Christ, also you have hip hop bibles and that’s not of God. Then you have leaders in the body of Christ that do not agree on the real issues, becasue its not their problem and not their area of expertise. Have a good day God bless.

Comments are closed.

