A few thoughts…

I am going on vacation with my family for the next week so I’m leaving things in the hands of my capable fellows here at ET. When I return I want to lead a blog discussion through Sidney Greidanus’ Preaching Christ from the Old Testament: A Contemporary Hermeneutical Model. I have been receiving a number of emails through the blog asking me about redemptive-historical preaching and apostolic hermeneutics. I think our trekking through Greidanus’ work is a good place to start so that folks can hear how a representative of the redemptive approach deals with preaching. I have a great appreciation for what Greidanus has done with this discussion but I am by no means an adherent to his perspective so it should make for some interesting interaction. In the meantime get the book off your shelf or pick up a copy and we’ll start our review in a little over a week.

On another note, I am a big fan of Stephen Nichols various works on Christian history (Edwards, Machen, Luther, etc.). I am reading his newest book The Reformation: How a Monk and A Mallet Changed the World. It is well done and fun to read…yes I said, “fun.” Pick it up and you’ll see what I mean. One passage in Nichols’ book struck me as an excellent reminder for how we formulate our theology. Writing about the travails of Martin Luther’s life Nichols writes,

“Luther’s theology wasn’t formed in a vacuum. He did not have the pleasure of a cool, undetached ivory tower to develop his thought. He formed his theology in the trenches, in the trials of life. And he formed it in life’s ordinary, everyday experiences. His was a theology full of and fully engaged in life. In fact, for some it was all too full of life” (pg. 35).

