“God is not Great”

Christopher Hitchens is enjoying renewed success with his latest book God is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything (top ten on most bestseller lists).The thesis of his book is “atheists should differentiate themselves from all the knuckle dragging morons who believe.” 

CT is now reporting that Hitchens will be corresponding with Douglas Wilson of Blog and Mablog. This should be interesting as Wilson is one of the few in the apologetics ring that consistently holds to a presuppositional framework. What this means is you won’t be hearing some of the same tired arguments for the existence of God that repeatedly get shot down by the likes of Richard Dawkins and Sam Harris via their interactions with Alistair McGrath and Rick Warren. Wilson is also an engaging writer (as is Hitchens) and is famous for being able to make a sentence crawl up your back and tickle you in the ear.

5 responses to this post.

  1. “famous for being able to make a sentence crawl up your back and tickle you in the ear.” I haven’t heard that one before. I’ll have to work on that effect.

  2. Posted by Lauren Jenks on December 7, 2007 at 7:54 am

    To whom it may concern,

    I was wondering, is this a website that is for Catholism or not? I myself am protestant but am disapointed with the church. I think that Catholics have alot of reverence and prayer in their church and a whole beautiful story about the life of Jesus. Ihave been spiritually confused about the Catholic church for a very long time. I read my bible alot, but I feel that I would rather go to the Catholic church now. I really think that being too religious can be detrimental to a human beings life.
    I guess I am wondering what Anyone’s thoughts are on the Catholic church.

    Thanks

  3. I think many here (myself included) would advise you to stay away from Catholicism. Yes, it LOOKS really religious, it LOOKS very holy. But why would you want to bow down to graven images(statues of Mary, Jesus, etc.), pray to someone who can do nothing for you (Mary), be encouraged to worship a man (the Pope) as if he is Christ, and esteem the traditions of man more than the word of God?

    So, yeah, avoid being sucked into the Catholic Church.

  4. Posted by Jason Long on December 11, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    Lauren,

    I, along with many other Godly men who take part in this blog, would be happy to answer all of your concerns regarding Catholicism. Click on my name to send me an email.

    In Him,

    Jason

  5. Posted by Jason Long on December 13, 2007 at 1:10 pm

    Sorry, it’s longjasonm at gmail dot com (have to type it out to keep the spam away :-)

Comments are closed.

