Themes in JUDE

Jude: The Neglected Epistle 

It’s been my privilege and joy to spend hundreds of hours studying and mediating on the inspired epistle of Jude.  Much of this book work has taken place at home during my personal studies.  My first sermon from Jude was preached way back in November, 2005 (no, i am not the senior teaching pastor at my home church).  As we seek to understand this much neglected jewel, here are a few Bible study and outline items to take note of.  I would encourage you to read through this book  (take heart it’s only 25 verses).  I trust the brief summary I’ve created here will be helpful to some of you.  This book has been difficult to interpret at times but is full of many wonderful truths. 

1. Jude’s thesis:  Every Christian is commissioned to fight for this non-negotiable body of objective truth! (v. 3).  I think Pastor’s need to emphasize this point. Jude 3 is not simply a Pastor’s call to arms.  I think Jude 3 was written with laypeople in mind!

2. Why we must fight: The unhealthy presence of stealth unbelievers (apostates) within the church (v. 4, 8, 19, 12, 14, 16, 19).  The gospel itself was under attack.  They attacked in life and with their doctrines.

3. Jude’s sober reminder: Sin and judgment go hand in hand (v. 4, 5, 6, 7, 10-15).  If you preach through this book be prepared to repeat this sober theme.

4. Jude’s favorite literary device are ‘triplets’ (v. 1, 2, 5-7, 8, 11).  For emphasis Jude often writes using triplets.

5. Jude’s use of the Old Testament (vv. 5, 6, 7, 11).  This man knew the Scriptures and used them very well.

6. Jude’s teaching on Divine preservation provides encouraging bookends to this great epistle.  In other words, Christian soldiers can go into battle without fear (vv 1-2, 24-25).  The beginning and the end of this book are well known; that’s not a big surprise after you memorize these verses.

7. The many parallels between 2 Peter and Jude.  It’s my humble opinion that Jude was most likely written a couple years after 2 Peter (Jude 1-25; 2 Peter 2).  Much has been written on this subject.

8. Jude’s references to extra-biblical accounts (v. 9, 14-15).  Some people in history past questioned the canonicity of Jude in large part because of these references.  It really is not a big problem as most of you well known.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Juan on May 24, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    Great post. For my class in Hermenutics we focused on Jude and I had a blast. I one aspect that I blew me away was “the triplets” aspect of Jude. I thought that was awesome.
    The stealth unbelievers has me pondering how they move into the church and how they take over. Hopefully I can look into how this happens.
    Juan

Comments are closed.

