Weather Atheism

I awoke this morning to a thick smoky haze which blanketed our city over night. We’ve noticed it some over the last couple of weeks but today there’s no mistaking that it’s here. I live a couple of hundred miles from the south Georgia wild fires that are currently devastating that area. The winds here in the Southeast have deposited the smoke from the fires to most of our state (Alabama). To make matters worse we have not seen rain in weeks which is a phenomenon I have not seen in my entire life growing up here in the South. For some this means life, death and livelihood. I have cotton farmers in my congregation who stand to loose everything along with a lot of other regional farmers if things do not change.

My hope turns to the Weather Channel starring at the forecast wishing for rain but none in sight. I know a man who has worked on a number of brainy projects for the government most of which are the variety of “if I told you I’d have to kill you” kind. He worked on one where clouds could be “seeded” on the West Coast which would cause it to rain throughout the jet stream in times of drought. Maybe our government could seed a few clouds for our region?

Then this morning the reality of it all hit me as I was driving into work through the thick haze. What ever happened to praying for rain? It is times like this which expose our practical atheism and unbelief in the Christ who “holds all things together” (Col. 1:17). It is drought-drenched days like this which make passages like James 5:17-18 come alive:

“Elijah was a man with a nature like ours, and he prayed earnestly that it would not rain, and it did not rain on the earth for three years and six months. Then he prayed again, and the sky poured rain and the earth produced its fruit.”

Could it be that my temporary hope was in a Weather Channel forecast or in a new government program? So I confess my unbelief and today I’m looking to Christ and I’m praying for rain.

“O God, heavenly Father, who by thy Son Jesus Christ hast promised to all those who seek thy kingdom and its righteousness all things necessary to sustain their life: Send us, we entreat thee, in this time of need, such moderate rain and showers, that we may receive the fruits of the earth, to our comfort and to thy honor; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen” (Cranmer, Book of Common Prayer, 828).

One response to this post.

  1. We’ve had a dry spring here in Indy too. Thanks for the post.

Comments are closed.

