Nota Bene at Summer’s end

If it’s not obvious by now, I have been enjoying a hiatus from blogging for the last number of weeks. I have found that blogging consistently through the summer has been all but impossible. I will be returning very soon but in the meantime I have enjoyed the excellent and provocative posts from Caleb and Randy. These boys know how to stir the pot. I wish Randy would stop holding back and give us more on the Psalms.

Here are a few things of interest that I have noticed along the way.

  • Our own Matt Waymeyer (who doesn’t have time to write for us) has delivered a wonderful two-part series looking at the question: “If God is Sovereign, Why Pray?” (Parts one and two) over at Pulpit Magazine.
  • Our fellow blogging friend Thabiti Anyabwile has written a book that I hope will fill a great void in my own understanding (The Decline of African American Theology, IVP).
  • Steve Weaver has written, along with Michael Haykin, a volume on Hercules Collins called Devoted to the Service of the Temple.
  • Martin Downes interviews African pastor Conrad Mbewe. I remember hearing this brother about eleven years ago and I still remember his powerful expository preaching.
  • Did Derek Webb drop the ball on the gospel? (see discussion and comments here and here).
  • If you happen to be anywhere near my hometown of Mobile, Alabama in October you might want to check out this conference on preaching with Steve Lawson and John MacArthur. While you’re there I also recommend you dine at the Original Oyster House on Mobile Bay.
  • I don’t know where you are but it’s really hot here…a breezy 103 tomorrow!

Blessings to all

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Scott Christensen on August 16, 2007 at 12:56 am

    I am dissapointed with Derek Webb’s response on the gospel. It sounds very much like what we hear from emergent types. The failure to emphasize penal substituion is bothersome. I think just like the seeker friendly crowd, emergents would like to distance themselves from caustic concepts like the wrath of God. The idea that it pleased the Father to ‘crush’ the Son (Isa. 53:10) is tantamount to ‘cosmic child abuse’ and so we cannot promote that idea in our ‘conversation’ – it will cause our neighbor to inadvertently spew forth his latte.

Comments are closed.

