The “Apostles’ Hermeneutic” and No. 421

I’m certainly not an expert on blogging etiquette, but I’m pretty sure you’re not supposed to post a controversial article and then immediately leave town (and your computer) for eight days while others hash out the implications of what you’ve written. But that’s exactly what I did, and I’m here to tell you that I’m committed to making it right. Eventually, anyway.

On September 23, I posted an article entitled “What Exactly Is the ‘Apostles’ Hermeneutic’?” Then I stepped aboard an airplane and headed out to Wisconsin with my wife and children to attend a week-long family reunion (during which my father-in-law surprised us with tickets to this historic event, which was absolutely unbelievable). Now that I’m back, however, I see that some of you have been busy in my absence.

Now I realize that Phil Johnson and the boys get 14 comments in the first 90 seconds after they post—and trust me, I do not envy them—but for us 14 in all is evidence that things are really picking up. On top of that, someone brought my article to the attention of R. Scott Clark, Associate Professor of Historical and Systematic Theology at Westminster West, and he responded with a post of his own. To which our own Paul Lamey responded, to which Clark responded, etc. etc. etc. Meanwhile, as all this is going on, I’m back in the heartland, throwing down bratwursts and contemplating cornfields.

Anyway, I just got back to my office and my desk is full for the moment, but when it clears a bit, I am planning to read all the responses and post some follow-up thoughts. Unfortunately, that probably won’t happen until some time next week. In the meantime, did I mention that my Packers are 4-0?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Scott Christensen on October 4, 2007 at 3:56 am

    Yeah, sure! Leave us hanging like that! And so what about the Packers! Brett Farve – Brett Smrarve! Johnny E showed him right about 10 years ago and Marino retired early – so go figure.

    Sorry, I’m just licking my wounds after my Broncos 2-2 showing – needed to vent.

  2. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on October 4, 2007 at 4:22 am

    Marino retired early? Scott, I think your bitterness is clouding your memory of history!

    Don’t worry, the Broncos will be back. After all, that’s what draft picks are for.

    Peace out.

  3. Posted by Juan on October 4, 2007 at 8:26 am

    great post make me laugh!
    I am bummed about the Chargers and Padres but there is always next year :)

    Juan

  4. Posted by Scott Christensen on October 4, 2007 at 8:35 am

    In reality I am happy for Farve – he’s had a hard couple of years. I hope the Packers do well this year… unless of course my donkeys get back into race horse condition!

  5. Our 53 man roster is down to 46 but none the less my Bears will respond on Sunday night (i hope)

    Blessings to you,
    Caleb

  6. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on October 4, 2007 at 10:55 pm

    Scott and Caleb: I know better than to badger you about the difficult starts of your respective teams–it’s too long a season, and I’ve eaten enough words as it is. I’m just glad to be 4-0.

    Juan: As a fellow Padre fan, you are welcome here any time! Tough loss for us against the Rockies. First Peavy gets hammered, then our bats come alive, but then Trevor gets rocked. And I refuse to even discuss that call at home plate. It’s better for my sanctification if I just pretend he was safe.

Comments are closed.

