When to buy books

“When I get a little money I buy books; and if any is left I buy food and clothes.”

~Desiderius Erasmus

8 responses to this post.

  1. Amen to that. What a blessing to have so many places now printing good books, including the Puritans. Now, if you can believe it, my best friend owns a used book store specializing in Reformed books.

    God is good.

  2. Posted by Scott Christensen on October 24, 2007 at 4:44 am

    I buys books when I don’t have money, food or clothes. Well, not quite.

  3. […] Paul Lamey shares some sage, 500 year old advice on when to buy books. […]

  4. Posted by Ed Trefzger on October 24, 2007 at 8:14 am

    If I knew a man who had a bookstore selling Reformed books, he’d be my friend, too! ;^)

    I got rid of cable TV about 6 or 7 months ago and as long as my book budget is below what cable was, I can justify the expenditure because I’m still saving money!

  5. Posted by Chris Pixley on October 24, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    Come to think of it, last time I saw either Scott or Paul was…at Archives bookstore in Pasadena! Not to worry, from the looks of it all three of us are eating quite well in the midst of our book buying pursuits.

  6. Chris,

    I am in your home state at the Ligonier Pastor’s conference? Scott Christmas is here but where are you?

    Caleb

  7. Posted by Chris Pixley on October 24, 2007 at 10:52 pm

    Wish I could have made it, Caleb, if for no other reason than to fellowship with you and Scott. Unfortunately, it didn’t fit the ministry calendar well this year. Maybe next year.

  8. Chris,

    I will try and post a recap on the conference on Friday or next week sometime.

    The Lord bless you,
    Caleb

Comments are closed.

