Weekend Fun: Yes, we have finally hit bottom

In our wacky attempt to put the “fun” back into fundamentalism we have brought you a special tribute dedicated to all the preachers who once wore parachute pants or had a teased mullet. Turn up your speakers and enjoy . . .if possible.

20 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Scott on November 30, 2007 at 9:22 am

    Paul, you’ve struck a serious power chord in my heart with that post. Imagine the impact of all our sermons this Sunday, if as soldiers for Christ, we watch this before getting into the pulpit. . . .

  2. Posted by a feckless boy on November 30, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    maybe we could issue preaching mullets

  3. That was just awful. I was never a Stryper fan, but nevertheless, you’ve resurrected demons from my past that will haunt me for at least the next few minutes.

  4. Just…. wow…awful isn’t even close.

    Soldiers under command of who?

    I remember these guys, I was in the target demographic at that time, and can remember being ashamed of this kind of stuff.

  5. Posted by Scott Christensen on November 30, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Shouldn’t this go under “black humor” as in “black comedy”? I didn’t know whether to laugh or cringe in horror.

  6. Those are more than just mullets.

    I wonder where they are now?

  7. What do you mean “had” teased mullets?

    Rock on!

  8. Posted by Dean on December 2, 2007 at 11:21 am

    I saw them live twice. I was a new Christ-follower and they were a nice bridge from Iron Maiden to Michael Card. (OK, they were a lot closer to one end of that bridge, but I got across!) They were as loud as Ozzy, only they shared the gospel and threw Bibles to the crowd.

  9. Not much different from many Sunday morning services these days.

  10. Posted by Keith Wells on December 7, 2007 at 12:13 am

    I am happy to see STRYPER on your site.
    I can’t believe it.
    I was at the PULPIT MAGAZINE site and I linked to you.
    There is hope in the world.
    Maybe John MacArthur secretly likes STRYPER.
    I am a christian, 46 years old, and still love STRYPER. DO you?
    I have never read your site before so I don’t know.
    STRYPER led me closer to CHRIST JESUS.
    Praise GOD.
    Where are they now?
    Still playing music.
    Pray for Michael Sweet’s wife; she has been fighting cancer.

    LOVE,
    Keith

  11. Keith,

    Try to contain your excitement. We will neither confirm or deny that any of us are Stryper fans. All we are is “soldiers on command.”

  12. Absolutely amazing. 777- Yellow and Black Attack! You know I used to be told that it was sin to listen to any type of rock music, especially Christian Rock…now that I’m a Reformed man, I find myself free to Rock in my car, and IPOD! Thanks for bringing back the memories.

    Gage Browning
    Post Tenebras Lux

  13. Posted by Alex Shepherd on January 5, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    What the world needs is the word of God rather than a poor attempt of incorporating God’s thru a secular group of Boys or Girls ?

  14. Posted by Keith on January 21, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Alex,
    Why do you call them boys or girls? They are 45 year old men. They happen to have long hair. Like most of the pictures of Jesus I have seen in fundamental churches. And like our founding fathers. True the world does need the word of God. But the world needs secular stuff too. I work at a secular glass company. Lots of reform preachers play secular golf. They read secular news papers and buy secular food and secular toilett paper. What principles exactly from GOD’S WORD are our christian brothers from STRYPER going against? If you don’t prefer that style of music that is ok, but to insult these men by calling them girls is wrong. What kind of music do you like? Stryper’s music has always drawn me closer to Christ JESUS. It has made me want to read God’s word more. They have been very encourqging to me.

    Love Keith

  15. Posted by nice on February 17, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    alex,

    what the world needs is for YOU to try and do something even close to what this group of MEN did… instead of you sitting in front of a computer judging people and their ministry that you know nothing of… NICE

  16. This style of music came out of the back rooms of a drug-infested godless culture, not from the church which Christ founded or godly people. This is an example of marrying the WORD with the world, something we are told not to do in Scripture. By the principles laid out in the OT we are not two mix different types of materials. Nor are we to burn strange fire on the alter. If anyone has received anything good out of listening to Stryper it is only because there may have been some good WORDS, and likely, IN SPITE OF the addition of worldly music. A person can be saved after reading John 3:16 scrawled on a washroom wall of a bar, after all, but we don’t advocate all the other things that go on there, or bar-hopping.

    Music which marries the world to the WORD creates more confusion than it alleviates. God is not the author of confusion. By the way, I used to be an advocate for all styles of music as long as the words were Scriptural. After studying the roots, fruits, and shoots of this type of music, I have changed my tune!

    2 Corinthians 6

    14Be ye not unequally yoked together with unbelievers: for what fellowship hath righteousness with unrighteousness? and what communion hath light with darkness?

    15And what concord hath Christ with Belial? or what part hath he that believeth with an infidel?

    16And what agreement hath the temple of God with idols? for ye are the temple of the living God; as God hath said, I will dwell in them, and walk in them; and I will be their God, and they shall be my people.

    PS: I wonder why 666 is flashed across the screen? Also, I doubt that Christ was effeminate in His appearance, although many artists seemed (incorrectly) to make Him so. Those pictures of Jesus are just artist’s conceptions and are not accurate representations of Him (none exist, by the way, and we are to worship Him in spirit and in truth). Stryper’s clothing is immorally revealing and their movements sexually suggestive. Many artists and fans can be seen in videos at these types of concerts making the sign of the devil, and a lot of them don’t even remember doing it. Why is it that the sign of the devil and the sign for “rock on” are the same?

    How can this bring honor to the holy God we worship? A Christian’s lifestyle and appearance are to be a reflection of their heart, and we are to be HIS ambassadors, not the world’s. Stryper sends a mixed message to both Christians and non-christians alike. Once again, God is not the author of confusion.

    There are very few things I have forbidden my children to do. Listening to Stryper is one that I have. They are one of the most blatant examples of marrying the world’s filth with God’s holy Word in the history of music. I hope and pray God has not written “Ichabod” across them and has given them a chance to turn from their love of the world. It is an abomination.

  17. Dearest Bonnie,

    Your late! This was posted five months ago. I enjoyed reading your comment but probably not for all the reasons you might hope I would enjoy it.

    I have found two tools indispensable when it comes to posting things on blogs (especially comments): One is a good spell checker and the other is a basic textbook on logic.

    Have a quiet day Bonnie,
    Paul

  18. I know this is late. I came across it because I was reading your posting on N. T. Wright for which I received a Google alert some time ago. I have only had the time now to check it out. I became curious about your Stryper Fan Club posting. I usually check out a website fairly well so that I can understand the perspective of the person behind it, and to see if their opinion on the matter is worth reading.

    Wow, I did not think my spelling was THAT bad! I must say, I did not proof-read.

    And I find the concepts in Scripture quite logical myself.

  19. Thanks for dropping by Bonnie.

  20. By the way, I agree with what you had to say about Wright and appreciated the provided links. I have been studying his brand of theology for the last two years. Out of all the Google alerts I receive, I get, by far, the most on Wright; a hot topic these days. I have written a little about him myself and am always interested in reading what others have to say about him.

    By the way, I enjoyed checking out your blog. Nobody agrees on everything, of course, but it is the essentials that are important.

    PS: I guess the spell-checker does not pick up the difference between TO and TWO or ALTAR and ALTER. Who can be perfect all the timeÉ (Yeah, I KNOW, my keyboard is doing funny things! In case you hadnèt noticed Iève been trying to avoid using apostrophes and the like, so donèt get on my case about, okayÉ Time to switch to another. I usually donèt use it when its acting like this, but I thought I would leave it just to annoy you, since things like that bother you. And the spell-checker DOES pick up on things like this!. Itès all in jest; please donèt take this too seriously:))

Comments are closed.

