Off to Russia

I am leaving Friday morning for Russia. I will be teaching a seminary class called “Preaching the Gospels and Acts” all next week. As some of you know, we had a very difficult trip last year (I would rather not relive the details here) so please pray for me and a fellow leader who will be traveling with me. If we have a good Internet connection, I may try to post some pictures and updates. I hope the rest of the guys will keep our readers entertained while I’m away.

 

 

“and pray on my behalf, that utterance may be given to me in the opening of my mouth, to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel, for which
I am an ambassador in chains; that in proclaiming it I may speak boldly, as I ought to speak.” (Ephesians 6:19-20).

“praying at the same time for us as well, that God will open up to us a door for the word, so that we may speak forth the mystery of Christ, for which I have also been imprisoned; that I may make it clear in the way I ought to speak” (Colossians 4:3-4).

“Finally, brethren, pray for us that the word of the Lord will spread rapidly and be glorified, just as it did also with you” (2 Thessalonians 3:1).

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chris Pixley on December 6, 2007 at 3:15 am

    We’ll be praying, Paul. Please greet the men for me. Will you be in Samara or Krasnodar? Or both?

  2. I sure will Chris. This time we will be in Krasnodar (for those unfamiliar, it is close to the Black Sea). I will not get to Samara this time around but Jon R. will be meeting us in Moscow (our lay over) and spending the week with us in Krasnodar.

  3. Posted by Chris Pixley on December 6, 2007 at 5:56 am

    Great place–you’ll love it. Greet the host family also (I assume you’ll be staying at their home). And enjoy that flight from Moscow to Krasnodar. Aaah…there’s nothing quite like Russian airliners!

  4. Well, I am Russian (originally from a small town near Saratov), now residing in Singapore. Wondering what kind of difficulties you guys experienced last time? Opposition to teaching, poor living conditions, or dangerous travel?

  5. Posted by Caleb Kolstad on December 6, 2007 at 7:27 pm

    You’re in our prayers!

  6. Vitali,

    I would rather not comment on the situation here but I assure you it was none of the above. Also the Russian people have always been very gracious to us when we travel there. I look forward to this trip every year.

    Thanks, Paul

  7. Posted by Paul Lamey on December 10, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    We made it over and all is going well in Russia. I just finished our first day of teaching on Preaching the Gospels. Please continue to pray for us, especially that our sleep schedules will catch up. Blessings.

    PSL

Comments are closed.

