Kaiser on Expository Preaching (Part 2)

Expository preaching and teaching unwaveringly begins and remains with the biblical text throughout the whole sermon. Rather than beginning with a human need or concern as the impetus for the sermon, the expository sermon deliberately reverses the action and has the sermon originate in the exposition of the Biblical text itself. Exposition starts with the Biblical text and holds fast to that text throughout the sermon or lesson.

—Walter C. Kaiser Jr., Preaching and Teaching from the Old Testament, p. 50

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Caleb Kolstad on January 31, 2008 at 1:48 am

    Matt,

    My apologies if i posted over your series…I think our topics go together very well. I was going to post a blog question today but will email you first before i do that.

    Sorry about your Packers!

    Caleb

  2. I definitely agree with that statement. I posted about that concerning my my sermon last Sunday night. I originally wanted to go a certain direction that is related to the text, but not the text itself. If I had done so, I would have shaped the meaning of the text to what I wanted, not what was there. By shaping a text to fit our goals and not what is written can lead to a slippery slope where we get lazy, at best, and preach heresy, at worst.

Comments are closed.

