Favorite hospital texts…?

So what are your top 3 “hospital texts”?  Close to half my new congregation is over 65 so i have been making many trips to visit our shut ins and of course have been over to the local hospitals.  What Bible verses do you like to encourage Christians with in these circumstances?

19 responses to this post.

  1. Psalm 46
    Psalm 23
    Romans 8:18-25

  2. Posted by Rob Curington on August 5, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Psalms 40 (especially 1-5)
    Romans 8:31-39

  3. Posted by Dave Harrold on August 5, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    Psa 34:15-22

  4. Nahum 1:7

  5. Oh my bad … top 3 …

    Nahum 1:7
    Philippians 4:10-13
    Psalm 23

  6. Posted by Hayden on August 6, 2008 at 8:29 am

    Caleb,
    Don’t forget to ask them their favorite Bible text,a dn ask them why. You will learn from them and also encourage them :)

  7. Posted by Cal Habig on August 6, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    Psalm 46:1-2, 4, 10-11 ; Romans 8:37-39; not much better than Psalm 23. Seniors, especially like it. Our church has a 30 page book of scriptures topically arranged that I take hospital calling with me. I read 3-4 scriptures from that and then leave it with them so that they can read more scriptures of comfort and hope after I am gone. I can send you an e-copy free if you are interested.

    Hayden’s suggestion is also VERY important. Most older people will have favorite scriptures. My observation is that most younger people won’t.

  8. Hyden,

    This is Yogi from Dauphin Way BC! If you get a chance e-mail me at yogitaylor@gmail.com I would love to catch up…

    Thanks!

  9. Cal Habig,

    I would love to get an e-copy of the book of Scriptures you pass out if possible. My email is pastorearls(at)earthlink.net

  10. Posted by BroJames on August 7, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Hi Cal,

    I, too, would like to receive a copy of the e-book, sounds really great.

    brojames at gmail dot com

  11. Great question.

    I have found Ps. 139 to be very strong, particularly God’s awareness of us no matter where we are.

    I also like Romans 8.35-39.

    At more end of life situations I have found Ps. 61 very meaningful.

    Tim
    http://www.musingaboutministry.blogspot.com

  12. Posted by Taj Eaton on August 7, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Thanks for this very practical discussion. I would encourage you brothers to be looking forward to a new book by Day One Publishers written by my pastor, Brian Croft, titled ‘Visiting the Sick.’ This book has been endorsed by the likes of Mark Dever and Bruce Ware. I think you will find it very helpful.

    Cal,

    Could you also send me a copy of your e-book please?

    Thanks,
    Taj Eaton
    taj.eaton@insightbb.com

  13. Posted by Mike Jarvis on August 7, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Cal, would you mind e-mailing me a copy of the booklet, too?

    msjarvis@msjarvis.com

  14. Posted by Tyler on August 7, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Cal,
    I would like to receive an copy of your e-book as well.

    tyler.till(at)evonik.com

  15. Posted by Hayden on August 8, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Cal,

    Can you send me a copy of your e-book at

    hayden@MMCCchurch.org

  16. Posted by Caleb on August 8, 2008 at 8:39 am

    Cal,

    The e book is the number bestseller this week.
    Please share!

    ckolstad@fbcfreeport.com

  17. Caleb,

    You should give Phil Manly a call at Grace Church 818-909-5500. As a hospital chaplain and son of a hospital chaplain and trainer of chaplains around the world, he is the most qualified, godly man I know who could really help.

  18. Posted by Chris on August 9, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Cal,

    I too would love a copy of your e-book if you have a chance to send it.

    sweatervestguy(at)gmail.com

  19. Posted by Caleb on August 13, 2008 at 1:27 pm

    John,

    Phil is a great servant leader. I took his hospital chaplain course at TMS (at the USC medical center).

    Grace,

Comments are closed.

