Biden on Abortion

In an interview yesterday on “Meet the Press,” Roman Catholic Joseph Biden said this about the abortion issue: “I’m prepared as a matter of faith to accept that life begins at the moment of conception. But that is my judgment. For me to impose that judgment on everyone else who is equally and maybe even more devout than I am seems to me is inappropriate in a pluralistic society.”

 

Can you imagine someone saying this about slavery in the 19th century? “I’m prepared as a matter of faith to accept that black people are created equal and should have the same rights as everyone else. But that is my judgment. For me to impose that judgment on everyone else who is equally and maybe even more devout than I am seems to me is inappropriate in a pluralistic society.”

5 responses to this post.

  1. Agreed, but take the whole Constitution, Declaration of Independence, Bill of Rights, for that matter, all of Scripture. “For that was . . . somebodies ‘judgment.’ Holy Molely, what ever happened to “absolutes, convictions, principles, guts??? I’m sorry, I forgot. . . it’s above my pay grade!!!

  2. Good comparison.

    As I read that a few days ago, I wondered how consistent his logic would be with other moral/legal matters. You’ve provided the answer I was seeking.

    Thanks.

  3. It baffles me that someone can admit that life begins at conception and still be ok with any sort of abortion.

    Great analogy.

  4. I cannot force my belief on anyone. I can clearly state my belief, but I can not force my belief on anyone else. I am totally against taking a life.

    But the decision is the person who makes it.

    ‘For me to impose that judgment on everyone else who is equally and maybe even more devout than I am seems to me is inappropriate in a pluralistic society.”

    Sorry he is right.

    Slavery? John Newton believed it three or five years after his conversion.

    Abortion is biblically wrong. Period. I can rightly say and preach that abortion is wrong. The judgment part is not my part, its God’s.

    I have to deal each week with sinful behavior of our people, and I cannot set in judgment personally, but only in preaching the Word.

  5. Posted by abe on October 15, 2008 at 10:26 am

    boy…let’s just give everyone the right to decide if drugs are right for them too…just because I believe that drugs are bad, doesn’t mean everyone else should feel the same way…flawed.
    Good thing the founding fathers had some guts to stand up for what was right and true!

Comments are closed.

