What Do Paedobaptists and Pre-tribulationalists Have in Common?

More than you might think. In a stunning new development which may prove embarrassing to theologians in both camps, a recent report claims that paedobaptists and pre-tribulational dispensationalists often use the same form of argumentation for their respective positions. Co-authored by Rich Ryan and Chris Pixley of Expository Thoughts, this report claims that rather than relying on clear exegetical evidence for their views, many paedobaptists and pre-tribulationalists often rely instead on inferential arguments based on their ecclesiology. See the comment thread under this post for what many believe was the original catalyst for this study by Ryan and Pixley.

 

Expository Thoughts founder Paul Lamey was said to be inconsolable when confronted with the findings of the report. “It just can’t be,” Lamey mumbled, sipping his coffee at the breakfast table and staring blankly at a fax from Pixley. “Maybe I need to rethink this whole issue.” Sources close to Lamey and his thriving Alabama church say the young pastor was due to preach 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18 this Sunday morning, but the elders have contacted Tim LaHaye to fill the pulpit in Lamey’s absence.

 

Meanwhile, the report is said to have caused “shock waves” in the reformed community, leading some paedobaptists to a new openness regarding the possibility of a pre-tribulational rapture. Rumors out of Florida say that R.C. Sproul has found the report “interesting,” and that he was recently seen tucked away in a corner of the library at RTS in Orlando reading Hal Lindsey’s The Late Great Planet Earth. According to one eyewitness, Sproul was nodding with what appeared to be “thoughtful but cautious approval.”

13 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Scott Christensen on September 19, 2008 at 11:43 am

    When can we see the report? Sometime around the 1st of April perhaps?

  2. You guys either have too much free time on your hands or you’ve been watching daytime soaps for too long.

  3. GLWJ: No doubt. And the sad thing is that Expository Thoughts hasn’t gotten this many hits since Paul Lamey posted that Stryper video.

    Scott: Keep an eye on my Packers tomorrow night.

  4. Posted by Scott Christensen on September 20, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    I admit – they are looking pretty good so far minus the old man.

  5. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on September 20, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    It’s still really strange not having him around. I was driving my oldest daughter home from ballet after the Packers played on Monday night during week 1, and I was telling her all about the game, and at one point I was telling her about this sweet touchdown pass from Rodgers to Driver and that got called back b/c of a penalty. Without even thinking about it, I just blurted out: “Oh, and Favre had this awesome pass to Driver down the right sideline….” Just rolled right off my tongue. Sad, but the winning certainly eases the pain.

  6. Posted by Scott Christensen on September 21, 2008 at 11:25 pm

    Sorry for the Pack’s loss tonight. I was cheering them on, but Dallas is a tough act to beat. My Broncos edged out another tight one today. Avg. age of the team – 26. Future’s looking bright.

  7. Look at the bright side Cheesehead- you still have your daily fix with the soaps.

  8. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on September 22, 2008 at 10:35 am

    Scott: I speed-watched the game last night after evening service. Dallas is clearly the better team, which makes the loss easier to take. I would definitely say the future looks good for Denver, and with Indy and NE struggling, the future could be now.

  9. Posted by Rich Ryan on September 23, 2008 at 10:54 am

    In the words of Stuart MacKenzie, “Now that was a bit offsides now wasn’t it [Matt]?”

    If I promise to post more will you promise to stop throwing me to the lions? I’m still willing to buy lunch at In-N-Out for you and Scott Clark. Send me the receipt and a recording of the conversation.

    FTR: I thought your replies in that thread were spot on. Moments like that always give me pause – where do I exhibit inconsistencies between what I criticize and what I do. What’s the Greek word? Skatoma?

  10. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on September 24, 2008 at 12:56 pm

    Rich writes: “If I promise to post more will you promise to stop throwing me to the lions?”

    Post “more”? Somebody get me a dictionary!

    Okay, Rich, here’s what happened: Paul Lamey bet me fifty bucks that I couldn’t get you and Chris to start writing articles again at ET. (Don’t feel sorry for me–he did give me 5-1 odds on the fifty–he offered me 25-1 odds on getting Jerry to write, but I turned him down.) So I figured the first step in getting you and Chris to write for the blog was to get you to start reading it again, and I figured the best way to do that was to start telling public lies about you. So part 1 of my strategy has worked. But when do you start writing?

    P.S. Pardon my ignorance, but who is Stuart MacKenzie?

    P.S. 2: For those who may be concerned, Paul and I gamble about as often as R.C. Sproul reads Hal Lindsey.

  11. Posted by Chris Pixley on September 24, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    I’m speechless.

  12. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on September 25, 2008 at 8:57 am

    Chris: Okay, that’s a great start. But can you turn that into a whole article?

  13. Posted by Chris Pixley on September 25, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    O.K. Here goes…

    I’m speechless. That is to say, I’m really at a loss for words. I’ll get back to you when I have something more to share.

    How was that?

Comments are closed.

