Happy B-Day to the Gipper

For all you Ronald Reagan fans out there who are celebrating the 98th birthday of one of America’s greatest presidents, you might want to check out this new documentary on the Great Communicator: “Rendezvous with Destiny.”

Trivia Question: Why is the documentary called “Rendezvous with Destiny.” Where does that phrase come from? (No Googling, and no emailing Paul Lamey to find out the answer.)

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Chris Pixley on February 6, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    Didn’t this phrase originate with Churchill, but was used by both FDR and Reagan? I see to recall hearing Bill Bennett talking about this the other morning.

  2. Posted by Chris Pixley on February 6, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    that should read, “I *seem*,” not “I see”

    by the way, anytime you disallow Paul Lamey as the phone-a-friend option in these quizzes, chances are the answer has something to do with Churchill.

  3. For those who like me were reared in government schools (commonly called “public” for some reason), the “z” in “rendezvous” is silent much like true voices of liberty in our day.

    As Brian Regan would say, “godspeed!”

  4. Chris: I’m not actually sure where the phrase originated, whether it was with Reagan or whether he was borrowing it from someone else. But my question is why it has become associated with Reagan. I see now that I wasn’t very clear in communicating what I meant to say.

    To give you a clue, it has to do with what was arguably the most pivotal moment in Reagan’s political career.

  5. Posted by Chris Pixley on February 7, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Gotcha, Matt. Sorry I misunderstood your question. This one, I think, is much easier (at least for a Reagan junkie). Reagan originally used the phrase in his famous speech endorsing Barry Goldwater as the Republican presidential candidate (’64, I think).

  6. Oh man, that warms my heart. Right on. It subsequently became known as “The Speech,” but you probably already knew that.

Comments are closed.

