What was the last book you read?

So what is the last Christian book you’ve recently read?  Would you recommend it?

I recently finished, John Calvin: A Heart for Devotion, Doctrine, Doxology.   If you want to understand this pastor/theologian/scholar/Christian more accurately and deeply then do read this book.   It shows the reader that true Calvinism is so much more than TULIP. 

20 responses to this post.

  1. I just read William Varner’s “Messiah: Revealed, Rejected, Received.” I loved it so much I’m writing a review of it for The Journal of Modern Ministry. So yes I would recommend it.

  2. Posted by Scott Christensen on March 23, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I recently read Wiliam McLoughlin’s “Isaac Backus and the American Pietistic Tradition.” Backus was a prominent but largely forgotten Baptist pastor during the 1st Great Awakening and the American Revolution. Backus was a tireless fighter for religious freedom in the late Colonial and Revolutionary period. This book provides an interesting perspective on the topic of religious freedom and the seperation of church and state. Few people realize how complex the religious landscape of America was during the this period of time. Jefferson and Madison are laregly credited for establishing religious freedom in America, but it was Baptists like Backus and John Leland who worked in the trenches with state legislators and denominational leaders who wanted to marginalize minority denominations like Baptists.

  3. I just finished Voddie Baucham’s book “Family-driven Faith.” A very good critique of the failing of Christian homes to raise godly men and women. Very convicting but incredibly Biblical and practical.

  4. Chris: Does that mean that you share my view of cats? I actually ended up doing a biblical critique of The Shack during our Sunday School hour a few weeks back. Here’s my outline:

    Ten Fundamental Doctrines of the Christian Faith that are Significantly Undermined in The Shack:

    1. The Transcendence of God
    2. The Trinitarian Nature of God
    3. The Sovereignty of God
    4. The Holiness of God
    5. The Lordship of Christ
    6. The Sufficiency of Scripture
    7. The Sinfulness of Sin
    8. The Nature of Redemption
    9. The Exclusivity of the Gospel
    10. The Message of the Gospel

    Other than that, I assured our people that the book was a must-read. Did you hear that recent interview where Young clearly denies the penal substitution of Christ? A real shocker.

  5. Posted by hayden on March 23, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    The Holiness of God by RC Sproul. A must read!! and re-read!!!

  6. Posted by tshuck on March 23, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    “The Atonement” by A.A. Hodge. It is an excellent in depth study of the Atonement. I don’t think it is print any longer, but it is the second best human book after Owen’s “The Death of Death on the Death of Christ”-in my opinion.

    At the Kerusso Bible Church, where I serve as one of the pastors, we are starting a new preaching series called “Forward Through the Basics.” I will be handling the section on the work of Christ and wanted to refresh my self. If you can get it,do it.

  7. Posted by tshuck on March 23, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    Opps! Should be “The Death of Death In the Death of Christ.”
    Sorry.

  8. Posted by Chris Pixley on March 24, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Matt-

    Let’s just say I’m not a big fan of cats. I don’t even know how it could be possible for someone to love Ronald Reagan and cats at the same time. I’m glad to know you’ve not tested my theory!

    I think your list of fundamental doctrines undermined in The Shack is great–very succinct, yet thorough. Mind if I borrow it?

  9. Speaking of the Atonement I am finishing up The Atonement by Leon Morris. His chapters on reconciliation and propitiation are tremendous.

  10. Chris:

    How come we didn’t hang out more when we were in seminary?

    Have at it with the Shack outline.

  11. Posted by Chris Pixley on March 25, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    Matt-

    My IQ was (still is) too low:-)

  12. Hey man, if you love Reagan and hate cats, that right there pretty much gets you into the genuis range.

  13. Posted by Scott Christensen on March 25, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    Hey, I fit those categories, can I be a genuis too?

  14. I’m inclined to say yes, but then there’s that whole thing about you liking the Denver Broncos. That really muddies the waters.

    Speaking of which, what’s up with Cutler? Is he staying? I like the guy.

  15. Thanks for destroying my post here guys. Broncos fan? No way.

  16. Posted by Scott Christensen on March 26, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Cutler has the same agent as Brett Favre if that sheds any light on the situation.

    Personally I think it was stupid to even entertain possibilities of trading him. OTOH, he’s been a bit of a cry baby about it.

    Sorry Caleb for hijacking the thread, but Matt started it. Maybe you need to think about trade negotiations.

  17. Caleb, to get back in the direction of the original post, I can tell you that the last magazine article I read was Sport’s Illustrated’s piece on Jay Cutler. Did you see that one, Scott? Interesting read. Cutler may be young and whiny, but I think he’s got the grit and raw skills to succeed in the NFL, and he’s got a way better offense around him in Denver than he would with some of the teams that might be willing to trade for him (e.g., the Lions or the Bears; sorry Caleb).

  18. We’d take Cutler yes. Bears and Pack week 1 on Sunday Night. Go Bears!!

  19. Posted by Scott Christensen on March 27, 2009 at 12:09 am

    Yes, Matt I agree. Denver had the 2nd best offense last season and next to the worst defense, thus their 8 & 8 record. Imagine if the defense were better giving Cutler more time on the field. Things are going from bad to worse both in Denver and on this thread.

Comments are closed.

