UPDATED: That doesn’t mean what you think it means (and other myths)

The following posts provide a provocative and much needed discussion on the current trend of “sex” sermons. I am posting the links here in an effort to help those in my own ministry think through these issues. As you will see, the issue is a nexus of theology, hermeneutics, homiletics, and pastoral counseling.

From MacArthur:

From Tim Challies:

From Erik Raymond:

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Robert Lee "Trey" Edwards, Jr. on April 16, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Thanks for the links, they were very enlightening posts.

  2. Posted by Robert Lee "Trey" Edwards, Jr. on April 17, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    “The Rape of Solomon’s Song (Part Four-conclusion)” has the wrong link. It should be http://www.shepherdsfellowship.org/pulpit/Posts.aspx?ID=4174 instead of http://stevenjcamp.blogspot.com/2009/04/when-confronting-others-what-is-your.html

  3. The link has been fixed, thanks Trey.

  4. Thanks for summarizing this so well. I still think that there is some talking past each other going on both sides as happens in just about every disagreement, but I am glad that the discussion is going on.

  5. Jason,

    Where has Driscoll “talked” (email, letter, phone call, etc.) with MacArthur? In order to talk past you must talk with. I happen to know that John has sought to engage Driscoll yet the conversation has not been reciprocated.

    PSL

  6. […] Expository Thoughts links to several recent posts, including John MacArthur’s series “The Rape of Solomon’s Song.”  There were numerous comments on each of those posts that I haven’t begun to wade through yet.  For follow-up discussion on Expository Thoughts, see here. […]

  7. […] One of the blogs caught up in publicising MacArthur’s postshad an automatic WordPress link to an earlier post of mine here on this blog. This caused me to re-think the article. Not because I regret what I wrote, but because I can now see that the title of the blog may have given the wrong impression. So I’ve deleted the post. However, this is the age of cached and archived material so it’ll still be out there in the internet ether! My post concerned my personal excitement about my wife listening to a few of the same podcasts that I was – one of these happened to be Driscoll’s 2008 series on Song of Solomon. It prompted quite a few discussions between us that might otherwise not have happened in regard to our marriage and our child raising. However, the unspoken caveat applied then and still does now! Namely, just because a link appears on my blog or a sermon is stored on my iPod, that I endorse, without reservation, everything by writer or speaker. […]

Comments are closed.

