Rare guide to exegesis

There are some resources that I believe make unique contributions to the practice of exegesis. One of my favorites is Walter Kaiser’s Toward an Exegetical Theology. It’s not perfect but it’s a great place for those who are looking for a “next level” guide. However, I’m often asked if there is a book or workbook that could be used in churches to move a student from text to sermon, one that doesn’t assume a grasp of the languages or even seminary training. That book is the little known Principles and Practice of Greek Exegesis: A Classroom Manual by John D. Grassmick. I don’t believe it has been updated since its original publishing in 1976 and it is still amazingly relevant. Even though it has “Greek” in the title, the process of exegesis is largely the same between the Testaments. I would love to know if others have used this resource.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Here it is alot cheaper than amazon – http://www.gbibooks.com/Details.aspx?ID=316

  2. Paul, I am familiar with the book by Grassmick and used it for exegesis in college. I agree with you that it is a very good work.
    Lew Miller

  3. Jack,

    Thanks for the link on the price, that is much better.

    Lew,

    I’m curious as to what college used it. I first became acquainted with it in a D.Min seminar.

  4. Paul, I used Grassmick at Philadelphia College of Bible. In fact I still use it to teach lay people the basics of Greek. The only thing that I don’t use is the sentence diagramming. I personally prefer the sentence flow method outlined by Gordon Fee in his book on exegesis. The sentence flow isolates the logical relationships of sentences better for me.

  5. Posted by Chris Poe on April 22, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks for the heads up on this resource.

  6. Posted by Paul Eastlack on April 22, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    Interestingly, Lew Miller referred this workbook to me back in 1983 while I was an Elder at the church that he still pastors. I havn’t seen Lew for 20 years! Hey Lew! The book is well worn and remains a great resource.

  7. P. Eastlack,

    That’s really cool, so we’re sort of like Facebook for preachers.

    Blessings,
    PSL

  8. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on April 23, 2009 at 11:45 am

    Paul,

    I’d ask you to explain to me exactly what Facebook is, but I know you look up to me as someone who is on the cutting edge of pretty much everything, and I’d hate to ruin that for you.

    mw

  9. Matt,

    At its best, Facebook is a “social networking” website that connect people through common interests such as education, location, and employment. At its worst, it is a noun that refers to a terrible waste of time for many people who call each other “friends” but have not otherwise bothered to write or call these “friends” in years if ever.

  10. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on April 23, 2009 at 12:22 pm

    I wish Neil Postman were still alive to offer some ongoing commentary on these kinds of technological “advances.” I just found out what Twitter is, and now recently (partly to make fun of it and partly to keep my bride in the loop of what’s going on throughout my day) I’ve decided to Twitter my wife (is “Twitter” a verb???) throughout the day the old fashioned way: through email! Who else but here really cares that I’m listening to the Brandenburg Concertos and eating a spinach/chicken salad.

  11. Matt,

    HI BF Small world, lol b/c I Just had the best tuna and apple IMO, anyway GG (POS) CUsoon!!!

  12. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on April 23, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I was with you on the opening greeting (“HI”), but then I totally lost you. Oh, and that’s not a request for you to explain–some kinds of ignorance are bliss because of how they make me feel smarter.

Comments are closed.

