A Footnote from Flannery O’Connor

Ironically, last night before I went to sleep, I pulled Flannery O’Connor’s Collected Works off my bedside stand and randomly opened to an address she gave at Georgetown University in 1963. Early in her speech, O’Connor told an interesting story:

I was recently at a college where a student asked me, in a voice loaded with cunning: “Miss O’Connor, what is the significance of the Misfit’s hat [in A Good Man is Hard to Find]?” Of course, I had no idea the Misfit’s hat was significant, but finally I managed to say, “Its significance is to cover his head.” Those students went away thinking that here was real innocence, a writer who didn’t know what she was doing!

At the risk of being labeled a premillennial simpleton who doesn’t know what he’s doing, sometimes a hat is just a hat, and land is simply land.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Funny but so true.

  2. Posted by Spencer on May 1, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    Great point!
    Very good work for a premillenial simpleton who doesn’t know what he is doing. Thanks.

  3. Two premillennialists walk into an amillennialist bar. The bartender looks up and says, “You guys still here?”

Comments are closed.

