Exegetical Summaries Series

Have any of you used these tools before “Exegetical Summaries Series”?  Are they worth the money? 

http://www.logos.com/products/prepub/details/4293

8 responses to this post.

  1. I like the series. The primary value in my opinion is that asks significant syntactical questions that, depending on your facility with the original languages, you might not think to ask. It also often categorizes the syntactical options and gives a quick summary of where to find proponents of each option, whether it be a translation or commentator. This series does not replace/displace traditional commentaries, but I have found it to be a time saver.

  2. I have not used that series, although I once used a rather extensive library of Logos resources. I quit for a couple of reasons:
    1. Buying Logos electronic modules were often almost as expensive as hardcopy volumes, and the hardcopy was generally much more durable and easier to use.
    2. Free online resources, such as the downloadable browser and modules from The Sword Project, and online commentaries linked from Links for Expository Preaching, while admittedly not as extensive as what is available for a fee, are nevertheless a much better use of resources than the rather expensive Logos material.
    That’s all to say that, unless one has a specific need that can’t be met with free resources, then Logos materials are seldom worth the money.

  3. I agree with the above comment. This series is excellent at the syntactical level of exegesis – and even word study. I have most of them in print, but having them in e-form will be a great time saver.

  4. Caleb,

    I had/have the same question about this series. You can see images of the Luke paper volume at the Eisenbrauns website: https://www.eisenbrauns.com/ECOM/_2NU0UFHN7.HTM. I would be interested to hear more from those who have used it. If the whole of the series appears like this volume, I think I am going to pass.

  5. That image @ the Eisenbrauns site is a very good representation of the layout of each of the volumes. I am sure they will not appeal to everyone.

    For me they often serve as a post-diagram tool. Once I have done my study of the passage, word studies, and attempted my diagram, before going to commentaries I will go to the exegetical guide to check if there is anything I may have overlook in the area of syntax – at the word, clause, phrase, and discourse level. I will usually do this in conjunction with referencing Grammars – i.e. Waltke or Wallace (and others).

  6. Caleb,

    I have used the volumes on 1 Corinthians and James and both were very useful. I agree with Joe that they are best used before consulting with commentaries and after doing your own grammatical legwork. Think of it as an exegetical digest without drawing final conclusions about preferred views.

    As to their value, this is largely dependent on one’s station in ministry. Preferences on Bible software are like elbows. One needs to determine what’s best for his own study and not be influenced by others particular methodology. At pure cost, the pre-publication price is a drastic reduction off the cover price I paid for a number of the volumes. By comparison about eight years ago I paid $19.00 for the volume on 1 Cor 1-9.

    An electronic version could be of great use to missionaries or Bible linguists.

  7. Posted by Chris Pixley on May 28, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Caleb-

    I’ve consulted the volume on 1, 2, & 3 John and found it very well done and helpful. Admittedly, I was only using it to supplement Robert Thomas’ _Exegetical Digest of 1 John_, therefore I wasn’t expecting it to fill a significant void in my study. However, it I found it did bring some strengths that Thomas didn’t provide and was also very helpful in succinctly summarizing the various lexical and grammatical views of a given passage and in which commentaries you could find each view argued more thoroughly. Based on my brief exposure, I’ll certainly consider consulting these little books in future studies.

  8. Thanks for the confirmation Joe. I think the way you use the material seems wise and helpful. And Paul is right to note that this is a wealth of information at a bargain price and still a compact format. Thanks for the discussion.

Comments are closed.

