The NT use of the OT–Redux

A pivotal issue impacting hermeneutics, theology, and application is the thorny issue of the NT use of the OT. Matt Waymeyer made the following adjustment to an old Expository Thoughts post that is worth mentioning here on its own.

I’ve been hammering away on this issue for the past month and, in contrast to what I wrote nine months ago [here] in the third comment above, I no longer find myself open to Longenecker’s view about the use of the exegetical methods of early Judaism in the NT. Ironically, Peter Enns’ argument in favor of this view in the Three Views book is what solidified my rejection of it. If I ever find some time, I’ll explain why. But I will say for now that if you read Longenecker and Enns closely, you’ll find that they simply assume what they are trying to prove. In fact, both of them state that it is “a priori likely” that the NT writers employed these methods, and Enns says “hard for me to think” that the NT use of the OT is merely an application (how’s that for an argument!). In the end I’m still a mixture of Bock and Kaiser on this issue, and I have to agree with Paul Lamey who told me in a recent email that he thinks the two of them are closer to each other than either would probably admit.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on September 23, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    In fairness to Longenecker, I should mention that when I said he simply assumed what he was trying to prove, I was referring to his 1987 article in Themelios (“Who Is the Prophet Talking About? Some Reflections on the New Testament Use of the Old”). I have not read his book “Biblical Exegesis in the Apostolic Period.”

  2. Great link for Matt Waymeyer!:)

  3. Posted by Wm. Andy Lynch on September 25, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    And all this time I thought I was alone in the ten pound brain theory. Maybe you can explain all this to me in March, Matt.

  4. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on September 26, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Andy, my good man! Yes, in March. I just had lunch with Jeff yesterday and we talked about reserving the hotel rooms. We might have a big group this year. I’ll email you and confirm whether William is joining us, etc. etc., but until then, I’ll tell my son Jacob that “the Warrior” says hello!

Comments are closed.

