Discipleship Lab (hazy shade of winter version)

Part of our constant grooming as pastors is to develop the gene of the “generalist.” Reading and observing widely is a skill set we all need to hone. The Discipleship Lab series will be devoted to the crumbs that fell to the floor while scouring essays, resources, lectures, and conversations. Enjoy!

  • Harvard Business Review shows that having talent is not the same as being an expert (here)
  • Is the God of the Missional Gospel Too Small? (here)
  • What Makes a Great Teacher? (here)
  • Garry Kasparov on “The Chess Master and the Computer” (here)
  • Foreign Policy Mag thinks Haiti is the “unluckiest” country in the world (here)
  • “Daddy, what were local bookstores like?” (here)
  • Is Avatar propaganda for pantheism? (here)
  • Christopher Hitchens remembers J. D. Salinger (here)
  • Why Salinger probably has 15 unpublished novels and why the world will probably never see them (here)
  • It’s not just Eddie Rabbit who loves a rainy night (here).
7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jerry Wragg on February 3, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Thanks, Paul. I read Leeman’s article on the smaller God of missional[ism] a little over a week ago. Excellent and very thoughtful! Hope you’re doing well. Any possibility we can get 30 min at the shepherds conference?

    Jerry

  2. Paul,

    Thanks for the good food.

    Looking forward to your NT Narrative series. (Sounds like I am on the same page with you from your last comment).

    On a slight tangent, have you read the book ‘Total Church’ by Tim Chester and Steve Timmis? I am almost done with it and have liked some of it and also been uncomfortable with some of it.

  3. Hayden,

    Funny you should mention ‘Total Church.’ I am in the process of writing a review of it for a journal. I will share it here as soon as it’s complete. If I had to sum up my thoughts on the book it would be “duh.” I felt like they really nailed the obvious but camped-out in areas that would “work” only if you happen to be a part of a church in a trendy loft setting in a hipster suburb of London.

    I have a lot on my plate at the moment but I hope to get up the next post on narrative by tomorrow.

    blessings,
    Paul

  4. Posted by Scott Christensen on February 4, 2010 at 12:00 pm

    Really enjoyed the “Great Teacher” article and the chess article by Kasparov. Keep them coming.

  5. Funny that we are both working on NT Narrative and reading ‘Total Church’, or not :–)??? Next thing I know you will become a fan of the Florida Gators.

    • You had me at “narrative” you lost me at “Florida.” I do hope Tebow excels at the next level. Too bad he NEVER beat Auburn. So sad.

Comments are closed.

