Jerry Wragg on Humility:

Humility is forged in the fires of an unmistakably clear vision of God, a biblically rich and abiding perspective of the cross, and a robust sense of man’s desperate sin-condition! When confronted with these realities, our deficiencies are properly magnified and successes are never allowed to take on a life of their own.

 Jerry Wragg, Exemplary Spiritual Leadership: Facing the Challenges, Escaping the Dangers, p. 33.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Caleb Kolstad on March 12, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    I’ll have to get a copy of the book. I did not know it was out. Great quote!

  2. So I’m standing by while another friend is talking with a very prominent, and internationally known, preacher at Shepherd’s Conference last week (whose name will go unstated, so I won’t be accused of name-dropping while commenting on a post promoting humility), when who else but Jerry Wragg himself strolls by. This well known preacher, who anyone as insignificant as most of us would love to be lauded by, says to Jerry (really loud), “Jerry, I heard your seminar this morning was INCREDIBLE! Did it go well?” To which Jerry says, with an almost embarrassed look on his face, “I got through it.” I’m pretty sure I would have been basking in the glow of the compliment. Jerry took a humble turn on a dime. He didn’t let that success take on a life of its own (to quote his quote). Take his advice. I saw it. I know him. He knows humility. He LIVES humility. Thanks for your example Jerry. And thanks for the book. I bought my copy at the conference.

  3. Posted by Scott Christensen on March 16, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    Jerry’s seminar was one of the most helpful messages to me personally during SC. Thanks to the Lord for your humble words of wisdom to struggling pastors.

  4. I wanted to publicly thank Jerry for his example of humility in the above mentioned anecdote and for the hundreds of others times I’ve witnessed such deference while serving under him at GIBC in Jupiter as his music director. He is an example of selflessness and integrity. How much we all need to grow in this area of sanctification and look to faithful men like Jerry as he looks to Christ!

Comments are closed.

