Update on my wife

Dear Precious Friends,

We are reminded by James that “you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow, you are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away” (James 5:14–15). On Thursday, March 25th this truth was brought home to our family in a significant way. Julie had a colonoscopy that resulted in the doctor finding a mass. Today, March 30th, we were given the definitive news that Julie has colon cancer. Those words are shocking to write and no one ever expects to hear them. Like you, we have many questions but today we are resting in the sovereign care of our great God. With the weight of this news, we have shed many tears and our hearts have been drawn together in love and prayer like never before. We know that the Lord sympathizes with us in our weakness (Heb 4:15) and that He gives us rest from our burdens (Matt 11:28). In the days ahead I will keep everyone informed as soon as information becomes available. I know that you may want to call or come by but please know that your prayers or notes are just as precious to us. Today, I simply ask that join me in prayer for the following:

  • Praise the Lord that He has shown His saving grace in our lives and has not left us without hope. Our hearts are incredibly heavy yet we are not grieving as those without hope. We are resting in the grace of Jesus Christ who is our life.
  • Wonder and worship, because the Lord causes all things to work together for good, even cancer. He knows the end from the beginning and calls us to abide in Him. In moments of weakness we will undoubtedly need to be reminded of this.
  • Pray for wisdom for our team of doctors as they seek the best treatments for Julie. Radiation and chemotherapy will begin immediately and last for six weeks. This will be followed by surgery in about twelve weeks.
  • It our desire that Julie be healed and make a full recovery from cancer yet we know that God’s perfect will is where we desire to rest.
  • Pray that we will use wisdom and discernment in our parenting of four of the most precious children in the world (Johnny-7, Will-5, Maggie-3, Emma-11 months).
  • Thank the Lord with me that He has given me the last twelve years to be with Julie. Should He extend our journey, our aim is to be pleasing to Him in all things. Our marriage has been filled to the brim with joys unspeakable. It is hard for me to imagine having a happier marriage yet I know the Lord will use this to extend our joy in one another. The Lord has been gracious to give us twelve years to prepare for this trial.
  • Pray that our faith will not waiver and that we can encourage you to cast your cares on the Lord for He cares for you.

Thank you for being near to us in this trial though some of you may be separated by miles and even oceans. It is comforting to know that so many of you will be with us to shoulder our burdens.

Yours in the love of Christ,

Paul Lamey

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble” (Psalm 46:1).

42 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Shannon Hicks Holmes on March 30, 2010 at 4:01 pm

    Paul, I am praying with you! Love you guys!

  2. Posted by Dawn Iverson on March 30, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Pleading for you…

  3. Posted by Charles on March 30, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    Praying

  4. Posted by Amy on March 30, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Paul and Julie,

    My family and I will be praying and believing with you!
    Amy Strickland

  5. Posted by Robert & Gerri Anne Dupee on March 30, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    We are praying….He who calls you is faithful and He will do it. Keep shining His love!

  6. Praying for you guys Bro. My heart hurts with you through this. Let me know if I can help you in any way.

  7. Posted by Jeanne O'Keefe on March 30, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    Paul & Julie, I had no idea. I’m so sorry to hear yet but so inspired by your post and your faith. I will be in touch…Love, your sister and first convert, Jeanne O’Keefe (Los Angeles)

  8. Posted by Scott Christensen on March 30, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    Paul,
    I will be praying as well. I have faced several recent situations of cancer here in our fellowship and each of them brought glory to God.

  9. Posted by Scott Pulliam on March 30, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    Paul and Julie,
    I was completely shocked at the news but encouraged by this update. What an example the two of you are. We will be praying for both of you.
    Scott

  10. I have added you to my friends and family prayer sheet. You know the Scriptures and God will bring many to comfort you, but I love I Peter 5:7 – each morning in my devotions I have a place for Casting Care…

  11. Posted by Jennifer Cranton on March 30, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    Paul and Julie,

    As I said in my Facebook post, I am shocked and saddened to hear this news, but at the same time, I am thankful for the Healer, and I am believing in His power over this cancer!

    In my thoughts and prayers,
    Jennifer Cranton

  12. Posted by Betty Kemp on March 30, 2010 at 7:06 pm

    Paul and Julie,

    My heart hurts with you. I will continue to pray for you both. You certainly are an encouragement to me. I love you both and your precious children!

  13. Posted by Caleb Kolstad on March 30, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    Paul & Julie,

    We will BE praying for you!

    All our love,

    Caleb and Andrea Kolstad

  14. Paul,

    I am very sad to read this news, but greatly encouraged by how you are handling it. I am praying for you and your family.

    Blessings,
    Jason

  15. Posted by April Reece Gordon on March 30, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    Dear Paul and Julie,

    I am so shocked and saddened by this news. My heart is heavy for you and I truly cannot imagine what you are going thru. You are in my prayers and I will anxiously follow your journey as you choose to share it.

    Much love in Christ,
    april gordon

  16. My heart hurts for you and your family, Paul. Your faith is a wonderful proclamation of Jesus, our hope. I thank God that you are in Metro Huntsville. May His kingdom come and will be done for His glory and your good.

  17. Posted by Tonya Garrick on March 30, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    Paul and Julie,

    We are very sorry to hear this news, but will definitely be praying for your whole family.

    Much love,
    Sean and Tonya Garrick

  18. Posted by Tara Koehler on March 30, 2010 at 9:41 pm

    Paul and Julie,
    We love y’all so dearly! Please know that we will be walking alongside you in prayer as you go through this valley. I praise the Lord for your trust in Him. You are glorifying Him already.

  19. Paul and Julie,

    We are praying for you! We ask God’s will and pray with all our hearts that His will includes Julie’s complete healing from this cancer. We trust that the Lord will give you everything you need right when you need it, especially as you minister to your little kids. May you find strength beyond measure to endure and be all you need to be for your family during this time. Much prayer and love is sent your way!

  20. Paul and Julie,

    Praying for you, our dear friends in Christ. Thank you for your godly example. My family and our church will petition the Father on your behalf.

    You are loved.

  21. Posted by Jayne Fisher on March 30, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    Paul and Julie,
    I was so saddened to hear your news, but I know God is in Control! I am praying for you guys and your precious family! Love you both!
    Jayne

  22. Posted by Brooke Duggan on March 30, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    I am praying for you all!!!

  23. Posted by Cary and Alisa Lowery on March 30, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    Paul and Julie…. Alisa and I will be praying for your faith to be strengthened during this mountain in you and your families life. We are praying for physical strength and rest for each of you as you battle together to fight the cancer and go through whatever treatment is necessary to overcome. Most importantly we will pray specifically that the Lord will perform a miracle in Julies body by removing the cancer. Please let us know if you need anything.

  24. Posted by Kerrie Moore on March 30, 2010 at 11:12 pm

    You are in our prayers. My mother had colon cancer a few years back. She is now healed and cancer free. She was young for this kind of cancer -In her 40’s. I will continue to pray for your wife, you and your family. God will have his arms wrapped around all of you. Kerrie

  25. Will pray, Paul.

    Our congregation has shared the journey of cancer with two of our members over the last year and we have grown tremendously because ofit.

  26. Posted by Lynda Miller on March 31, 2010 at 2:01 am

    I found this site through Paul Lawson.

    God knew us before we were ever thought of, before we were in the womb, and in the womb, and after birth and he will continue to know us until we return home again to Him. I had two different types of cancer in 1983 and it is now 2010. No one thought I would make it but somehow I commited it to the Lord. Now I am going in for a biopsy tomorrow and I must tell you that your words have blessed me and helped me to realize that I have traveled a circle and here I am again yielding to the will of our Creator. All is for the glory of God but it is hard to come to the point where we see that. God bless and you will be in my prayers. Stand strong in the Lord.

  27. Paul & Julie,

    Since reading the words above and those in a few emails with Paul, you and your family have constantly been on my mind. For a large portion of that time, the following words from Benjamin Beddome have been right beside those thoughts of you. So, I share them with you as one of the many prayers that your friends are lifting up for you, trusting in God’s faithfulness and covenant love.

    God’s ways are just, his counsels wise;
    No darkness can prevent his eyes;
    No thought can fly, nor thing can move,
    Unknown to him that sits above.

    He in the thickest darkness dwells;
    Performs his works, the cause conceals;
    But though his methods are unknown,
    Judgment and truth support his throne.

    In heaven, and earth, and air, and seas,
    He executes his firm decrees;
    And by his saints it stands confessed,
    That what he does is ever best.

    Wait, then, my soul, submissive wait,
    Prostrate before his awful seat;
    And, ‘midst the terrors of his rod,
    Trust in a wise and gracious God.

  28. I am a friend of Kirby Myers. He asked to pray for you guys. I just wanted to let you know, I’m praying for you and pray that God can use you both during this time. God is in control and hold on to your faith.

  29. Posted by Jim Poole on March 31, 2010 at 8:44 am

    Julie and Paul:
    I have just gotten the news this morning on the cancer diagnosis. I realize that the doctors can give the physical portion of this news, but they do not have the complete picture. Jesus is our Healer and Preserver of lIfe. I have already begun to pray and will continue to do so. I will share the news with Debby so we can pray together on this. Hang on to this piece of scripture, Numbers 6: 24-26. Jim

  30. May the Lord Jesus prove Himself both sufficient and triumphant in your lives!

    In Christ who is our Hope,

    John

  31. My heart is aching for you both as I’ve just read this blog post. Having 3 young boys of our own…I have no words.

    May Christ be your everything, now more than ever. And we pray for God’s peace to overwhelm your hearts as you strive to trust in His sovereign plan for your beautiful family.

  32. Posted by Tim Rice on March 31, 2010 at 9:15 am

    Paul & Julie,

    I just got this news on Michael Howell’s Facebook page. I am so sorry to hear about this. I will be praying for you both and will forward this information to all of my friends from MC to lift you both up in this time of trial.

    Tim Rice
    Mobile College, ’93

  33. Posted by Prentice Poole on March 31, 2010 at 11:18 am

    Paul & Julie,

    It is with a very heavy heart that I heard the news about your upcoming battle. You & your family will be in my constant thoughts & prayers. Give Julie a big hug from the Poole family!

    Prentice “Prissy” Poole

  34. Posted by Brad Hatcher on March 31, 2010 at 12:15 pm

    I was at CHBC with Julie in the Youth Group. My wife Lynn and I will be praying for your family. I know God is in control. Our prayers are with you!

    Brad and Lynn Hatcher

  35. Guys! Haven’t talked in a long while, but glad prayer know no time. Thanks for rolling this out. Humble of you. Sherri and I will be praying for you all. On the one hand colon cancer is often beat. On the other hand we put our security not in tomorrow as James warns, but in God’s goodness, as Paul teaches.

  36. Posted by Tara and Joe Miller on March 31, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    WOW. there have been so many hardships in lives of our christian brothers and sisters! We pray for your peace and ability to care for all of your children. The body of Christ is indeed special when it comes to helping one another in tragedy. May you remain strong and steadfast in Him who keeps you!

  37. Posted by shannon hutchinson huff on March 31, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    You are doing the right thing…calling out to God and calling His people to action…I will pray and call out to Him for a complete and total healing for Julie…He hears you…He is holding Julie in the palm of His hand…do not be afraid…God is so pleased with both of you…He loves you both so much…God is near…He is right there beside you…just love on Him right now as He loves on you.

  38. Posted by Gina Toms on March 31, 2010 at 9:22 pm

    Paul & Julie,
    You do not know me, but I am friends with Sarah and Tim Ellsworth. I read a post that caught my attention and it lead me to you. May God have the glory in all things. Please know that people that do not know you in a personal way, but that are brothers and sisters in Christ will be sending out prayers for you Julie and your family. Don’t forget that “Joy comes in the morning.” Psalms 30:5

  39. Posted by Buff McNickle on March 31, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    Paul & Julie,

    Please know of my prayers for all of you and know that I am asking all I know to join with you guys in prayer asking God for all the things you listed above!

  40. I have been absent from the internet for a week or so because of some trials as well and was shocked to see this today. I will pray for you guys.

  41. Posted by Amy (Bodenhamer) Walker on April 1, 2010 at 10:28 am

    paul and julie,
    omg. what to say. i grew up with you both!! i remember sitting in the pews next to you in church, hanging out eating pizza in the red room with jim poole, going to “bible camps” together! it seems like i’ve known you forever. you both were there, and i’m sure at least heard if not saw what i went through with my dad and his cancer. BUT!….now that i’m in the medical field, and i see/hear about these things EVERY DAY….i am SOOO encouraged. it’s unbelievable the advances in medicine, particularly cancer treatment, that have been made since my father passed 16 years ago…unbelievable. every DAY they are making improvements. every day i type about patients with a “history of colon cancer” or a “history of lung cancer”…..history??? 16 years ago–there wouldn’t have BEEN such a phrase. but today–today! you can SAY a history of–meaning, it was in the past…it was an illness you had, but you recovered from…AMAZING!!! so…..bless your PRECIOUS hearts…i look forward to the day when you will tell us about your “history” of cancer, and your experiences along the way, and how you beat it. it WILL happen. and bless those amazing babies of yours—they are in my heart night and day since i found out. as a mother of three, and one with some fairly serious illnesses herself, i can relate to the difficulty of explaining a complicated, UNFAIR, awful disease to a child…an innocent baby whose world never included something like this before. and the pain of realizing how much you love them. anyway, i love you both very much, and i look forward to your updates (don’t be stingy! make sure you include the medical “jargon” and details for us geeky medical types….i’d like to know!). love you and will read from you soon!

Comments are closed.

