Commentaries on 1 Thessalonians

I just finished the Gospel of John, and I’m thinking of preaching 1 Thessalonians next. Any good commentary recommendations?

14 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Jeremy Horneck on May 7, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    I really liked Wannamaker in the NIGTC.

  2. Posted by John Butler on May 7, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    John Lillie’s Lectures on The Epistles of Paul to the Thessalonians (Tentmaker Classic Commentaries) is an oldie but goodie. Also available free for download on Google Books.

    BTW, I recently finished John and then finished 1 Thessalonians this past Lord’s Day. Start 2 Thessalonians tis coming Sunday.

  3. One really can never go wrong with Hiebert.

  4. I would go for

    F F Bruce (Word 1982)
    C A Wanamaker ( Eerdmans 1990)
    L Morris (Eerdmans 1992)

  5. Posted by Greg Smith on May 8, 2010 at 6:26 am

    Greg Beale.

  6. Posted by Keith Price on May 8, 2010 at 7:09 am

    Green (Pillar)
    Malherbe (AB)

  7. I recommend D. Edmond Hiebert.

  8. Posted by Gregg Metcalf on May 8, 2010 at 10:17 am

    R. L. Thomas – Exegetical
    F. F. Bruce- Exegetical
    H. Hendricksen- Expositonal
    D. E. Heibert- Expositional
    M. V. Holmes – (Devotional)
    H. A. Ironside – Devotional (Arminian)

  9. Malherbe

  10. Posted by John Goodell on May 9, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    I liked Richard Mayhue on 1 and 2 Thessalonians

  11. Posted by Jerry Wragg on May 10, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    Heibert for sure. He is a rare combination of good, thorough exegetical work with an expositional flair.

  12. Thank you, gentlemen, for the recommendations. I’m looking forward to checking them out. At some point down the road, I’ll let you know what I’ve found to be most helpful.

    In the meantime, two questions: (1) Has anyone used Fee? If so, is he as helpful as usual on 1 Thessalonians? (2) Can anyone tell me if the revised edition of Thomas in the updated EBC is enough of an improvement over the original to justify the purchase? I would prefer to wait until the entire revision of EBC is completed and buy the entire set all at once, so I’m a little hesitant to purchase a single volume (especially if there is little change from the first edition).

  13. No one mentioned John Stott. I have him on 1 & 2 Thessalonians in three different series. He is always good. Can’t vouch for Martin in the New American Commentary series but I have found all the volumes I have used in this series as helpful. G. G. Findlay is good too. Like some of the other brethren, Heibert is one of my favorite on any book of the Bible!

  14. Anthony Thiselton is about to put out a commentary on 1 & 2 Thessalonians, which looks great – emphasising its history of reception. Might be out too late for this preaching series though…

Comments are closed.

