Colossians commentaries?

I just finished the book of Revelation, and I’m thinking of preaching Colossians next.  Any good commentary recommendations?

12 responses to this post.

  1. P.T. O’Brien in the Word Biblical Commentary series and Doug Moo’s recent addition to the Pillar series. These are both excellent resources.

  2. I agree — O’Brien and Moo. I also find Murray J. Harris (Colossians and Philemon: Exegetical Guide to the Greek New Testament) to be exceptionally helpful.

    • you can pick up Calvin in paperback on Half.com for about $15 here: http://product.half.ebay.com/_W0QQcpidZ1327018QQprZ915300

      If you watch this, add it a wishlist, you can usually get a copy under $5 that pops up every once in a while. I’ve had this one for years and just recently ordered the Hebrews, Pastorals, Thessalonians and Romans volumes from Half all for a few bucks each(1. Romans and Thes and 2. Hebrews and Pastorals).

  3. Posted by Matt Waymeyer on May 17, 2010 at 6:21 pm

    1 Colossians?

    Never heard of it.

  4. Waymeyer- You must really fear Cutler this season. :) Just because i cut and pasted your blog post does not mean you have to mock me.

    I hope you are doing well friend.

  5. I thought of one more resource on Colossians that has been helpful to me, though technically it is not a commentary. It is An Exegetical Summary of Colossians by Martha King. It is published by the Summer Institute of Linguistics (I purchased it off of Amazon.com). As I’ve already stated, it is not a commentary per se, but rather considers each word, phrase, clause to provide an exegetical summary of the various possible views on each. In doing so it provides a summary of the positions taken by twenty different commentary/reference works and twelve different English translations. I have found it helpful immediately after I’ve done my exegetical work on a verse, just to check to see if I’ve missed anything or failed to consider some possibility. It can send me back to the original works to seek out why they have taken the position they have. SIL has put out an entire series of such works, though I have only used this one on Colossians. The book is helpful if used for what it was intended, but can be frustrating if I start to read it as a commentary and forget it is providing me a summary of exegetical possibilities … not necessarily arguing for one of those positions.

  6. Posted by lakeviewbc on May 18, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Sam Storms has a wonderful devotional book on Colossians that will no doubt spark thoughts. I would concur on Moo and O’Brien

  7. Dude, I’m actually just flattered that you were so impressed with the clever way I worded my post that you just had to borrow it!

    The Bears have actually made some good off-season moves this year. It has become clear to me that predicting football is way above my pay scale. Every year I’m pretty sure this will be the year for the Packers, and the last time I was right was 14 years ago.

  8. Kent Hughes was my favorite when I preached through Colossians. Great insight and application.

  9. Posted by Caleb Kolstad on June 4, 2010 at 12:20 pm

    So far P.T. O Brien has been the most helpful commentary in my sermon studies. Dunn, Kitchen, and Moo have also helped out alot esp. with exegesis.

    For application and exposition MacArthur, Anders, Gromacki, Melick, Hendrickson, Lucas, and Garland have been quite good. In another 2 or 3 months I’ll be able to speak with greater authority.

  10. Posted by Caleb Kolstad on June 30, 2010 at 9:32 am

    I just recieved a new book in the mail today. “Exegetical Gide to the Greek New Testament” by Murray J Harris. This opening volume highlights Colossians and Philemon.

  11. Guy H. King has a great little book called “Crossing The Border: An Expotional Study of Colossians. Book can be found at ABE Books. Since it is out of print expect to pay around $15.00 plus shipping

Comments are closed.

