Knocking down the house of cards

C. S. Lewis has reminded me lately of a few truths as only the great Oxford don could do. About the only thing I have in common with Lewis is that we have watched first-hand as our wives suffer from cancer. After his wife Joy died from her struggle, Lewis penned a series of journals that would become his book A Grief Observed. I was able to read it a few mornings ago and found not a few poignant passages. In one entry, Lewis interacts with the common refrain that we often hear when suffering, “God has sent it to try us.” I couldn’t tell you how many people have lovingly reminded me of this in recent days. While there is ample biblical warrant for this (e.g., 1 Cor 10:1-13) it’s not the whole story. Lewis writes:

God has not been trying an experiment on my faith or love in order to find out their quality. He knew it already. It was I who didn’t. In this trial He makes us occupy the dock, the witness box, and the bench all at once. He always knew that my temple was a house of cards. His only way of making me realize the fact was to knock it down.

One response to this post.

  1. “He always knew that my temple was a house of cards. His only way of making me realize the fact was to knock it down.” Wow! What a statement. I’m going to be chewing on that bittersweet morsel for quite some time.

Comments are closed.

