The death of books?

“Reaching for a book is a symbolic and literal grasp at freedom, untethered to the whim of cyber-gatekeepers.” in “Letters to the Editor” Wall Street Journal (Wednesday, August 11, 2010).

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Scott Christensen on August 13, 2010 at 12:33 am

    Preach it brother!

  2. Posted by Gary on August 13, 2010 at 10:36 am

    Performing an electronic search of a 500-page book in a fraction of one second is freedom. :)

  3. Agreed with Gary in finding a word; however, researching answers from reading many books gains one a perspective and understanding they did not previously have. Word search is not the same as concept search because one can take things out of perspective. Reading books is an element to developing concepts and perspectives. Having to search for answers by reading works takes one on a journey they had not expected and treasure is found. Search engines cut the journey short, and loses the treasure. Speed is life – only in jets. Something happens to a person when he/she holds a book and reads the pages that an author created.

    Sometimes the old ways are good ways. Food for Thought if you are Hungry.

  4. I agree with what you are saying. I love books. I love to smell books, hold books, buy books, and search for out-of-print books in used book stores. I love books. I used to have over 5,000 volumes in my library, but moving those books have become a head-ache, a back-ache and very costly. I would love nothing more than to have a home and a library large enough to house all of my books in one room, but that is not every going to happen in this economy.

    Also, as I sit and look at my library I see many books that I have never read. I see other, better books, very useful commentaries that I don’t use any more because other volumes have become my favorites. And several of the volumes that I have had for years, and carted from one place of service to another, are now in electronic form. What used to take a whole room to house all of my books, for the most part, can now be downloaded to my computer.

    Yes, some of the standard commentaries are not in electronic format and some of the newer commentaries are not in digital format, but a lot of the reference works and older commentaries are in electronic format. Another advantage of the electronic library is that I can have several commentaries, Greek or Hebrew helps all open at once and easily move from one book to another with the click of my mouse.

    A feature I really like is that if I am preaching on a topic such as God’s grace my Bible study program can search my entire library for the reference God’s grace and show me a list of which book and where the reference is found in seconds. Do you know how long it would take me to search all the “real” books in my library to find these references? Well, you get the idea. I love books, the old-time kind you sit down and flip through and make notes on the side of the pages.

    I hope real books never die. But I have found several advantages to the electronic library. The one I recommend is Wordsearchbible.com. They have over 3,400 volumes and you can get over 200 books free. And from Bible-Explorer.com software you can get a whole study library free. Gentleman, lets keep reading and keep prepared to administer the Word of God no matter what format the books are in.

  5. Some helpful thoughts Dennis…thanks!

Comments are closed.

