Update on my wife

Though this subject has nothing to do with preaching per se, then again it has everything to do with preaching and it has had a massive impact on my ministry. Almost one year ago my still very young wife/mother of four was diagnosed with colon cancer. This last year has been one I will never forget nor would I want to. In short, the Lord has been gracious and sweet to us and we have found that he is good even in the lowest seasons of life. Though I have not enjoyed seeing my wife suffer, we both know that this path has been good for us in ways that words fail to describe.

I share this because many of you have asked about her and have written us throughout the year to tell us of your prayers and concerns. You have no idea how much your letters, emails, and calls have meant to me and Julie. We met with her doctor today and were given the results of multiple tests which confirm that there is currently no presence of cancer. We rejoice in the Lord’s goodness to us and His undeserved mercies which are new every morning. Thank you for your love and your prayers.

Paul Lamey

Huntsville, AL

7 responses to this post.

  1. Such wonderful news! I praise God with you! May you continue to see His mighty hand upon you both each day.

  2. Posted by Keith Price on March 3, 2011 at 5:48 am

    Praise the Lord and congratulations.

  3. Posted by Caleb Kolstad on March 3, 2011 at 7:56 am

    Praise the Lord! You’ve been a wonderful example to all of us during this fiery trial. Are you guys coming to Shepherds?

    • Thanks Caleb, I will be in L.A. and on campus next week (Monday-Wednesday) for some mission meetings. I need to return because Julie will be having another surgery and I will be taking some time off. I hope to see you there.

  4. Posted by Jerry Wragg on March 5, 2011 at 7:26 am

    “I know, O LORD, that your judgments are righteous, and that in faithfulness you have afflicted me.” (Ps 119:75). We rejoice with you both for these blessed results! Thank you for teaching us how to respond to the frowning providence of God, and for being His instrument for our spiritual growth. Louise and I love you both!

    Trembling at His word,
    Jerry

  5. Posted by Marcelo Lemos on May 24, 2011 at 6:39 am

    Paul, despite the distance, (we are in Brazil), can count on our prayers and the prayers of the Church.

    +Rev. Marcelo Lemos
    http://www.olharreformado.com

    • Marcelo,

      Thank you for your prayers. The Lord is faithful and good.

      Blessings to you and your congregation in Brazil,
      PSL

Comments are closed.

