Any late, great commentaries?

Has anyone purchased any new Bible commentaries over the last year that you’d like to recommend?  Please share!

9 responses to this post.

  1. I bought Bock’s commentary on Acts in BECNT and I think it is very good.

  2. I don’t know if one would consider this an official commentary or not, but I recently bought Beale and Carson’s Commentary on the New Testament Use of the Old Testament. I’ve found it particularly enlightening, helpful, and informative regarding context of the thought of the passage at hand. It only covers the Biblical text which directly cite, make references and allude to, and borrow or expand upon ideas of the First Testament.

    I am only a student and a currently, self-educating one at that (at least concerning theology, etc.) and so you may not even consider my suggestion. But nonetheless, here it is.

  3. John,

    Thanks for your comment. How would you rate Bock’s work vs Barrett (ICC) or Marshall or Bruce’s (NICNT) commentaries? I own quite a few works on Acts and have not yet purchased Bocks.

    Steven,

    Thanks for your thoughts. I also own Beale and Carson’s commentary. I have not used it too much as of yet.

  4. Posted by Peter C. Bogert on July 30, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    Exegetical Commentary on the NT: James by Craig Blomberg and Miriam Kamell is very good. Different kind of layout and really helpful in a variety of ways.

  5. Posted by Greg on July 30, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I am working on teaching through Revelation at my church. I have a bunch of premil/futurist stuff already. I was looking for other viewpoints. It’s intimidating but Beale’s NIGNT commentary is excellent. Dennis Johnson’s Triumph of the Lamb is wonderful. On a much more readable level for the average layman, Poythress’s The Returning King is a good introductory work. His chapter on structure alone is worth the price of the book.

  6. I’d love to send you or one of the fellows a review copy of the newest Kress commentary–“The Pastoral Epistles for Pastors” by John Kitchen to review. It is a 624 pg. hardcover that is a bit of a hybrid commentary (exegetical and expositional). The exegesis is very good and the appendices (especially the various suggested ways to outline the books) are wonderful.

    It’s endorsed by Kistemaker; Wiersbe; and Mayhue.

    Blessings,
    Rick

  7. Rick,

    Please send me a copy and I will gladly review it. If possible a soft or hard back book is much easier to read then an electronic copy.

    My ministry address is
    FBC of Freeport
    ATTN: Caleb Kolstad
    413 West Empire Street
    Freeport, Il, 61032

    Your “God in Everyday Life” commentary on the book of Ruth was very helpful to me. Great work! I think I own most or all of your ministries books. http://missionbooks.org/kresschristianpublications/

    That Ruth commentary and Dale Ralph Davis’ commentary on 1 Samuel are two of the best application driven commentaries I own.

    Thanks kindly,
    Caleb

  8. I saw a copy of that Kitchen commentary at this years Shepherd’s Conference.. I looked to be outstandingly good.

  9. I like several various commentaries but NICOT and NT are good and the Tyndale Commentaries will be out in software format through IVP soon…

    Great stuff!

    http://www.ivpress.com/cgi-ivpress/book.pl/code=4279

    http://www.eerdmans.com/shop/product.asp?p_key=9780802823663#series

Comments are closed.